Annotated 1841 Census of Greater Seaham

The Census of June 6 1841, Greater Seaham
(Dawdon/Seaham Harbour, Dalton-le-Dale, Old Seaham and Seaton-with-Slingley)

Here is the 1841 census of the greater Seaham area, annotated by Tony Whitehead, a Seaham native and historian. Since this document was written in the mid-1990s, some of these census entries may have had corrections made to them in this site’s database, so if you are interested in a particular family, you should search for that family in our database and check to see if any corrections have been made that are not present in this article.

The Census of 1841 was the first to record any personal details and was largely experimental. The enumerator did not ask exactly where a person was born, only whether that person was born in the county in which he or she was now standing. The answer he put down on his sheet was either yes (Y) or no (N), or N(S) if a person was born in Scotland or N(I) for born in Ireland or N(F) if a person was born in a foreign place that was not Scotland or Ireland.

Part 1, Dalton-le-Dale (includes the village of Dalton-le-Dale, Dawdon and
most of modern-day Seaham Harbour) – HO 107 311/4, folios 1 to 44

Dalton-le-Dale

West Farm – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Anne Smithson, 5
Joseph Willis, 35, Farmer
Barbara W, 35
Nicholas W, 7
Margaret W, 6
Mary W, 4
Joseph W, 1
=============================
Robert Parkinson, 25, Manual Lab
Elizabeth Hutchinson, 15, Farm Lab

Dalton Moor – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Andrew Watt, 50, Farmer
Mary W, 40
John W, 10
Thomas W, 8
Mary W, 6
Martin W, 4
=============================
John Johnson, 50, Agr Lab
J. (male) Young, 15, Manual Lab
Elizabeth Clarke , 15, Farm Lab

Times Inn – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Thomas Minns, 57, Publican and Farmer, N
Jane M, 56
Thomas M, 20
George M, 18
Adam M, 14
Charles M, 12
=============================
George Pattison, 30, Farmer
Mary P, 25
Ann P, 1 month.

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
William Hall, 83, Farmer
Isabella H, 73
Joseph H, 30
=============================
Richard Coulton, 30, Agr Lab
William C, 5
William Thomas, 15, Manual Lab
Sarah Dawson, 15, Farm Lab

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Christopher Wilkinson, 35, Schoolmaster
Mary W, 28
Mary A. W, 3
Elizabeth A. W, 1

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Robert Richardson, 73, Independent means
Ann R, 66

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
George Oats, 55, Farmer
Isabella O, 60
Ann O, 24
Anthony O, 20
Margaret O, 35
=============================
Mary Jones, 6

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
John Jameson, 45, Cartwright
Mary J, 50
John J, 20
Thomas J, 15
William J, 14
Elizabeth J, 13
Peter J, 10
=============================
Margaret Robinson, 4

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Edward Pattisson, 60, Farmer
Jane P, 54
Joseph P, 25
=============================
James Dickson, 15,
Ralph Lister, 15, Manual Lab
Edward Nicholson, 2

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Thomas Wilkinson, 50, Farmer,
Dorothy W, 40
Frances W, 50
=============================
John Walker, 30, Agr Lab
Ralph Lister, 15, Manual Lab
Ann Watt, 12, Farm Lab

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
James Minns, 27, Agr Lab
Frances M. 29
Elizabeth M, 2

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
William Pattisson, 80, Independent means
John Elliott, 30, Joiner
Dorothy E, 40
Ann E, 8
William E, 6
John E, 4
=============================
Charlotte Craggs, 14, Farm Lab
Thomas Garbutt, 20, Cotton Weaver

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
John Craggs, 35, Agr Lab
Margaret C, 30
Margaret C, 15
Robert C, 10

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Joseph Elliott, 21, Engineer
Ann E, 21

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Anthony Walker, 34, Stone Mason
Ann W, 31
Thomas W, 7
Sarah W, 6
John W, 2

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
John Nicholson, 29, Joiner
Jane N, 28
Eliz N, 4
William N, 3
John N, 4 months

Dalton-le-Dale – Dalton-le-Dale 1841 Census
Hugh Jobes [Jones?], 25, Joiner
Ann J, 25
Edward J, 2
George J, 3 days

Dawdon

Dawdon Field – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Benjamin M. Stafford, 50, Farmer
Mary S, 45
Eleanor S, 15
Jane S, 15
Mary S, 12
Benjamin S, 8
Milburn S, 5
=============================
George Stonehouse, 30, Manual Lab
James Leonard, 20, Manual Lab, N (I)
Mary Thompson, 15, Farm Lab

NB: Dawdon Field House was a farm house which somehow was able to cope with seven families living in it. Today it still stands and is known as Dawdon Hill Farm. It is just across the small dene (Dawdon Field Dene) from the site of the former Dawdon Colliery. Like some of the other outlying farms it is probably vey old and almost certainly far older than Seaham Hall (1792). Dawdon Field House in fact has as good a claim as any to be the oldest continuously inhabited building in Greater Seaham. It has seen some noisy and dirty neighbours come and go – the Blastfurnace, the Chemical Works, the Bottleworks, the Gasworks, Watson Town and Dawdon Colliery, and it has seen them all off. Once more and perhaps for good it now overlooks only fields to the south.

Dawdon Field – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Edward Robinson, 30,
Agr Lab, N
Sarah R, 30, N

Dawdon Field – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Dodd, 30, Agr Lab, N
Margaret D, 25, N(S)
Ann D, 5, N(S)
John D, 4, N
David D, 3
James D, 8 months

Dawdon Field – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Lynn, 40, Agr Lab
Mary L, 35
Margaret L, 9
John L, 5
Robert L, 1

Dawdon Field – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Sarah Willis, 65, Pauper
=============================
William Clough, 15, Agr Lab
Mary Clough, 15, Farm Lab
Margaret Clough, 5

Dawdon Field – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Walker, 25, Agr Lab
Jane W, 26
Elizabeth W, 2

Dawdon Field – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Francis Carter, 45, Agr Lab, N
Latitia (?) C, 53
John C, 20, Agr Lab
Latitita (?) C, 5

NB: At first the below Pilot Terrace was intended exclusively for those of that profession but as we can see in later censuses this did not last long. The Pilot houses were both humble and primitive. The pilots however were very well paid and were regarded almost as princes among their fellow citizens. When better class houses went up they soon abandoned the Terrace to others less choosy than themselves. Lord Londonderry recruited experienced pilots from up and down the coast but South Shields and Sunderland were the biggest providers. The most famous pilot families to emerge in Seaham were the Ellemor(e)s/Elemores, Applebys, Dobsons, Marshalls, Millers and Scotts. Again and again you will come across those surnames in this census. Three Applebys and three Dobsons were drowned in the carrying out of their duty but countless lives were saved by them and their colleagues in their other role of lifeboatmen. In the first century of Seaham Harbour’s existence the pilots were very important people indeed and

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Francis Appleby, 35, Pilot
Sarah A, 30
Ralph A, 5
Francis A, 4
Moses A, 2
Thomas A, 4 months
=============================
Sarah Padley, 15, Farm Lab

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Geatonby [Gatenby], 30, Seaman’s wife, N

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Charlton Dobson, 35, Pilot
Mary D, 30
Mary D, 10
Frances D, 5
Charlton D, 4
Ralph D, 2

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Catherine Allan, 25, Seaman’s wife
Elizabeth A, 1

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Giles, 30, Seaman’s wife
John G, 5

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jane Hunter, 35, Seaman’s wife, N
Martha Lupton, 9

Pilot Terrrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Kirtley, 30, Ropemaker
Sarah K, 30
George K, 3
William K, 1

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Henshell [Henzell], 60, Ship Captain, N
Margaret Smith, 30, Farm Lab

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Henshell [Henzell], 50, Ship Builder, N
Ann H, 45
=============================
Mary Maugham, 95, Pauper, N

NB: According to Pigots Trade Directory for 1834 the above William Henshell (or Henzell) was the first landlord of the Wellington Inn in South Railway Street. He then turned his attention to shipbuilding. You can hear more of him in later censuses.

NB: The above Mary Maughan was the oldest person in Greater Seaham in the census of 1841. If she was right about her age then she was born in about 1746, the year of Culloden, the last battle fought on British soil. She would already have been about 79 when the Stockton & Darlington Railway opened in 1825, the event which ushered in the Age of the Machine. What changes she would have seen in her lifetime!

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jonathan Johnson, 60, Mariner, N
Jane J, 50, N(S)
John J, 15, App
Edward J, 10, App
=============================
Mary Henshell, 25
John H, 6 months

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Smith, 25, Joiner, N(S)
Mary S, 25, N(S)

Pilot Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Coverdale, 25, Engineer
Mary C, 25
Hannah C, 5

Wood Houses – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Forster, 35, Engineer
Ann F, 35, N
Mary F, 10
Joseph F, 5
Dinah F, 4
Robert F, 1

Wood Houses – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Makepeace, 30, Blacksmith
Hannah M, 29
George M, 12
Hannah M, 9
William M, 7
Wilson M, 2

Wood Houses – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Lonsdale, 50, Agr Lab
Mary L, 50
Robert L, 25, Agr Lab
Elizabeth L, 20
John L, 15, Carpenter’s App
Sarah, 14

Pottery – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Webster, 25, Mariner’s wife, N

Pottery – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Radcliffe [Ratcliffe], 25, Ship’s Carpenter
Sarah R, 20
James R, 3
Robert R, 11 months
=============================
Mary Berry, 45, Innkeeper
Elizabeth B, 15

Pottery – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Henry Burkett, 58, Tea Dealer, N
Elizabeth B, 60
Richard B, 15

Pottery – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Gray, 35, Potter
Margaret G, 35
Elizabeth G, 17
Margaret G, 4
George G, 1
=============================
John Wilson, 25, Potter

NB: Examples of work from the above pottery still exist and are held by Sunderland Museum. The Pottery itself had gone by the time of the 1851 census.

Adolphus Street/Adolphus Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Charles Spencer, 30, Rope Manufacturer
Elizabeth S, 25
Marshall S, 5
Mowbray S, 3
Elizabeth S, 6 months
=============================
Sarah Barrit (?), 28, Farm Lab, N

NB: Adolphus (1825-62) was the second son of the 3rd. Marquess of Londonderry and Frances Anne Vane Tempest. The street named after him was initially very small and would remain so for another couple of decades. Twenty years after this census it still contained only 5 families. Between 1861 and 1891 it expanded westwards and eventually totalled 68 houses. In 1841 it was on the very edge of the new town.

Adolphus St. (Braddyll Arms Hotel, formerly the Windmill Inn ?) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Chilton, 19, Brewer
Margaret C, 50
Margaret C, 16
John C, 13
Mark C, 5
Mary C, 15, Farm Lab
=============================
Thomas Cumming, 20, Customs Officer

NB: According to Pigots Trade Directory for 1834 Thomas Chilton was the landlord of the Windmill at Seaham. This may have been the Mill Inn or the original name of the Braddyll Arms before 1834 when the below Colonel Braddyll had not yet completed his railway from South Hetton Colliery to Seaham Harbour. The mineral line ran right past the pub.

NB: Colonel Thomas Richmond Gale Braddyll of Haswell (and Ulverston, Lancs.) was the proprietor of South Hetton and Murton collieries. He financed the Braddyll Railway (the South Hetton line), constructed from 1831 to 1833, which linked his pits with Seaham Harbour and which went past this public house. Another public house, the Braddyll Arms at Cold Hesledon, was also named after him. Braddyll went bankrupt in 1846 and some of his holdings were taken over by the Pemberton family who had previously owned Monkwearmouth (Pemberton Main) Colliery. They renamed the pub at Cold Hesledon which became firstly the Cold Hesledon Inn and then the Pemberton Arms. It still stands today and is sometimes called the White House. The pub in Seaham was demolished in the 1960s. Colonel Braddyll also owned Conishead Priory near Ulverston in Lancashire. Long after his death this house was taken over by the Miner’s union and became a convalescent home for their sick and injured members.

Adolphus St – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Neil, 25, Timber Measurer, N
Hannah N, 20
Margaret N, 7
Robert N, 5
Thomas N, 1
=============================
Isabella Ridley, 15, Farm Lab, N

Wood Cottages – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Pruddah [Prudhoe], 50, Mason
Mary P, 50
George P, 20, Mason
Mary P, 15
Thomas P, 15, Apprentice
John P, 10
William P, 5
=============================
Dorothy Paxton, 20

NB: The above John Pruddah , aged 10, was in fact John Seaham Prudhoe, the first child to be born in the new town of Seaham Harbour in 1828, mentioned by Tom MacNee in ‘Seaham – the first 100 years’. Wood Cottages apparently stood on Terrace Green opposite the Lord Seaham. They were later removed and placed at the top of Pilot Terrace. In the 1851 census they are called Marquess Cottages but they have gone by the 1861 census, probably merged by the enumerators with ‘Wood Houses’.

Wood Cottages – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Rogerson, 50, Lab, N
Jane R, 45
Ann R, 25
Mary R, 15
Robert R, 14
John R, 20, Clerk
Elizabeth R, 8
Sarah R, 5

NB: The Rogerson family seem to stay put in Wood Cottages for the next 50 years at least, despite a change in location and changes of name to first Marquess Cottages and then Wood Houses. They can be found there in every census up to 1891.

Wood Cottages – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Alexander Thompson, 50, Joiner, N(S)
Elizabeth T, 50, N(S)
John T, 18, Mariner
Jesse T, 16
=============================
William Lowes, 3

South Crescent (Vane Arms) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Dorothy Green, 35, Innkeeper, N
Samuel G, 15, App
George G, 10, App
Joseph G, 9
John G, 7
Ralph G, 5
=============================
Samuel Coxon, 60, Sinker of Pits, N
Ann C, 25, Farm Lab, N
Ann Halliday, 20, Farm Lab

NB: Named after the Vane ancestors of Frances Anne this pub was demolished in the 1960s. The site is still empty. In this 1841 census the enumerator included it as part of South Crescent – later it would be regarded as being the bottom house in the north side of Church Street, number 74.

South Crescent – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Halliday Dixon, 30, Ship Chandler
Mary D, 40
=============================
Henry Hutchinson, 25, Painter
Elizabeth H, 20
William H, 2
Joseph H, 2 months

South Crescent – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Wilson, 30, Tinner & Brazer
Alice W, 25
=============================
William W, 20, Tinner

South Crescent – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jonathan Johnson, 30, Agent
Ellen J, 30, N
Elizabeth J, 8
South Crescent (Londonderry Arms)
Matthew Patton, 49, Innkeeper, N
Mary P, 40
William P, 19, Architect
=============================
Mary Cummins, 15, Farm Lab
Robert Loraine, 20, Coach Driver
Mary Harrison, 15, Farm Lab
Elizabeth Spraggon, 19, Farm Lab

NB: Named after the 3rd Marquess, the Londonderry Arms was the first house begun in the new town of Seaham Harbour. It is now called ‘Sylvia’s’. As the nearest pub to the harbour it soon became known as a house of ill-repute. Six generations and 167 years later it still has that reputation, perhaps unfairly.

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Sheridan, 55, Lab
Ann S, 55
Ann S, 20
Elizabeth S, 15
=============================
Ann Ridley, 5

Church St – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Woodifield, 25, Agent
Elizabeth W, 25
Elizabeth W, 4
Jane Smith, Farm Lab, N

NB: At first Church Street had only one (the north) side and for a long time even this was incomplete. From its houses and shops there was a clear view to Kin(g)ley Hill. Soon though it would become much bigger.

Cross Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Stonehouse, 25, Sailmaker, N
Mary S, 25
Ann S, 4
Jane S, 2

NB: Cross Street disappears after this census. It may have been renamed Green Street in 1860 in honour of Sam Green, first manager of the Londonderry Seaham & Sunderland Railway, who succeeded in getting himself run over and killed by one of his own trains.

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Charlton, 25, Agent, N
Sarah C, 20, N
Sarah C, 3, N
Elizabeth C, 3 months, N

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Magee, 20, Coal Trimmer
Jane M, 20
Mary M, 13
Margaret M, 10
James M, 4
Jane M, 1

NB: A ‘trimmer’ had an horrendous job. He was employed at the docks in the extremely heavy task of getting the coal from wagons into boats. Sometimes this could be done cleanly and effortlessly with the use of chutes and gravity but more often the coal simply piled up beneath the hatch and did not reach into the corners of the hold of the boat. The trimmers then had to get down into the hold of the ship and make sure that coal reached into the corners. They did this by either using moveable steel plates to direct the coal to the desired spot (difficult to describe without a diagram) or by manually shovelling it into the corners as fast as it poured in from above. Backbreaking work and all done in complete darkness ! And of course a trimmer suffered as much from ‘the dust’ as any miner and got home from work just as filthy and exhausted. Trimming was part of the job of dockers at Seaham Harbour until the 1980s.

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Nicholson, 20, Joiner
Margaret N, 20
Elizabeth N, 9 months
=============================
Joseph Maddison, 25, Blacksmith, N

South Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Watson, 25, Painter
Isabella W, 23

NB: Only one house in South Terrace at this stage.

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jane Turnbull, 35, Seaman’s wife, N
George T, 8
James T, 6
Jane T, 1

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Middlemass, 35, Seaman’s wife, N
Elizabeth M, 3, N
William Sutcliff, 30, Monister, N

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Dryden, 30

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Turnbull, 40, Agr Lab
Ann T, 25
Mary T, 1

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Sarah Carter, 30, Dressmaker

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Tinlin, 34, Agr Lab, N
Jane T, 34, N
Robert T, 13, N
Elizabeth T, 11, N
Thomas T, 9, N
William T, 7, N
Jane T, 1 month

Church St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Taylor, 25, Seaman
Isabella T, 25
George T, 1
=============================
Elizabeth Earnshaw, 4

NB: The below Dunn’s Buildings are not mentioned in later censuses. They were probably one of the yards of Back South Railway Street or became merged with it as far as enumerators were concerned.

Dunn’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Smith, 40, Lab
Ann S, 37
William S, 16, Lab
Thomas S, 14, Lab
Dorothy S, 12
Harriet S, 6
Robert S, 4

Dunn’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Stephen Duckwood, 58, Lab
Frances D, 43, N
Emma D, 15, N
Charles D, 15, App, N
Peter D, 10
Mary D, 5
=============================
John Tomlin, 19,
Seaman, N

Dunn’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Scott, 48, Pilot
Morley S, 19, Pilot
James S, 10
Margaret S, 5

Dunn’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Paxton, 32, Ropemaker
Jane P, 30, N
Robert P, 7
James P, 4
Jane P, 2
Eliz P, 1
Margaret P, 2 months

Dunn’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ralph Dunn, 70, Independent means
=============================
Elizabeth Lindsay, 20, Farm Lab

NB: The above Ralph Dunn gave his name to the buildings listed here.

Dunn’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Philip Burley, 35, Lab
Thomas Colling, 17, Lab
Isabella Colling, 15, Farm Lab

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Ploughman, 35, Manual Lab, N
Mary P, 25
Jane P, 8, N

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Gibson, 50, Lab
Eliz G, 49
Frances G, 20
Eliz G, 15
Joseph G, 10
=============================
Cuthbert Roddam, 40

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Gray, 40, Seaman’s wife
=============================
Ellen Stokeld, 30
William S, 11

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Howe, 40, Lab
Catherine H, 40
William H, 5
=============================
Abraham Pearson, 70, Lab
Margaret Pearson, 69

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Smith, 35, Bellman
Ann S, 30
William S, 7

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Todd, 45, Keelman
William T, 18, Seaman

Back St (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Clarke, 30, Schoolmaster, N
Mary C, 25
Elizabeth C, 1

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Breton, 22, Shoemaker, N
Ann B, 28, N
=============================
William Davey, 11, Apprentice

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Huit [Hewitt], 21, Tailor, N
Dorothy H, 24, N
James H, 1, N

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Greenlaw, 30, Seaman
Mary G, 30, N
Robert G, 15, App
James G, 2
Eliz G, 13
Margaret G, 10
Mary G, 7
Catherine G, 4

NB: Quite who Malcolm was is a mystery. Malcolm’s Square disappears after this census. It too probably was one of the yards of Back South Railway Street or became merged with it. A Malcolm’s Yard appears in the census of 1861 but this seems to be part of Back North Railway Street.

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Gordon, 47, Carpenter, N
Mary G, 38, N
Rebecca G, 10, N
=============================
Margaret Milburn, 36, Ind. Means, N

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Margaret Smith, 30,
Potter, N(S)
Jane S, 6
Elizabeth S, 4
James S, 1 month

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ann Spence, 45, Seaman’s wife, N(S)
David S, 15, App, N(S)

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Johnson, 35, Lab, N
Hannah J, 30
=============================
Christopher Harrison, 25, Lab, N
Robert Straughan, 20, Shoemaker

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Wilson Lister, 30, Cartwright

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Hinde, 30, Brakesman, N
Elizabeth H, 30, N

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Isabella Robson, 30, Widow, N
Barbara R, 4, N
Thomas R, 2
=============================
Owen Anwoods, 28, Lab, N(I )
James Anwoods, 26, Lab, N(I )

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Sarah Jackson, 25, Widow
William J, 5

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jane Stewart, 25, Seaman’s wife, N(S)
James S, 1, N(S)

Malcolm Square – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Draper, 25, Mason
Ann D, 20
Michael D, 1
=============================
Richard Draper, 20, Mason

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Bambrough, 26, Waggon Driver
Jameson B, 30
William B, 12

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Rush, 30, Pilot
Isabella R, 30
Mary R, 9
Ann R, 6
Isabella R, 3
Dorothy R, 1

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Hardy, 35, Coal Trimmer, N
Jane H, 26
James H, 2
William H, 8 months

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Hunter, 30, Coal Trimmer
Barbara H, 25
Margaret H, 7 months

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Watson, 23, Pilot
Sarah W, 23
Mary W, 3
Elizabeth W, 1

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Edward Brown, 41, Seaman
Mary B, 41
Jane B, 20
Mary B, 18

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Snell, 25, Seaman’s wife, N
John Snell, 2

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Lyall Henry, 46, Pilot
Mary H, 45
Mary Bambrough, 1

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Richard Jarvis, 45, Carpenter, N
Jane J, 45, N(S)
Jane J, 15, N
John J, 15, N
Thomas J, 9, N
Richard J, 6, N
=============================
Francis Thomas, 20, Carpenter, N(S)

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Nicholson, 55, Carpenter
Mary N, 55
Martha N, 30, N
Elizabeth N, 20, N
George N, 15, N

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Brown, 40, Pilot
Sarah B, 35
Elizabeth B, 17
Jane B, 5
Sarah B, 17 months

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Davison, 25, Mason
Margaret D, 23

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Silas Willis, 30, Seaman
Frances W, 27
Mary W, 8
Ellen W, 6
Thomas W, 3
Parkin W, 3 months

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Stewart, 67, Seaman, N(S)
Ann S, 67

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Kirk, 35, Seaman’s wife
=============================
Mary Swinney, 15
Isabella S, 12

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ralph Hunter, 40, Coal Trimmer
Margaret H, 39, N
Robert H, 11
Ralph H, 5
Luke H, 3
John H, 3 months

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Gordon, 50, Lab
Ann G, 50
John G, 15
Robert G, 5

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Williamson, 61, Seaman, N
Margaret W, 61, N
Jane W, 36, N
Gilbert W, 36, Joiner, N
Matthew W, 12
James W, 6

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Isabella Fox, 20
Elizabeth Fox, 11 months
=============================
James Fitzsummers, 45, Lab, N(I )
Peter Burn, 30, Lab, N(I )
Thomas Muckman, 20, Lab, N(I )
James Clarke , 40, Lab, N(I )
Peter Fitzsummers, 40, Lab, N(I )

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Samuel Palmer, 35, Seaman
Mary P, 40, N
John P, 10, App
Samuel P, 5
Mary P, 3

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Wilson, 25, Seaman
Elizabeth W, 25
John W, 4
James W, 2

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William White, 35, Coal Trimmer
Jane W, 35
Martin W, 15, Lab
Jane W, 13, N
John W, 11, N
Thomas W, 9
William W, 5

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Stephenson, 29, Lab
Sarah S, 25
Thomas S, 7
John S, 5
Joseph S, 3
Elizabeth S, 3 months

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Jackson, 30, Seaman’s wife
William J, 9
Mary J, 7

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Hudson, 30, Seaman, N
Ellen H, 25, N(S)
Ellen H, 5, N
Elizabeth H, 3
John H, 1

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jonathan Lancaster, 25, Potter
Ellen L, 20

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Elernor [Elenor or Elemore], 15
Henry Elernor, 10
Francis E, 7
George E, 5
========
Ann Brown, 10, Farm Lab

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jane Jones, 25, Seaman’s wife
James J, 1

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Henry, 18
Dorothy H, 14
Margaret H, 8
William H, 17, Pilot
Lyall Henry, 11
=============================
Robert Parker, 4

Back Street (Back S. Ry. Street) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Copeland, 45, Carpenter
Elizabeth C, 40
Thomas C, 9
Elizabeth C, 7
Dorothy C, 4
John C, 1

Cross St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Graham, 45, Lab
=============================
Ann Hardy, 15, Farm Lab, N(S)

Cross St – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Boggon, 30, Lab
Sarah B, 26
John B, 4
Samuel B, 2
=============================
Margaret Johnson, 35, Farm Lab
Elizabeth J, 2
George Ferry, 35, Seaman

Cross St – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Leighton, 25, Mason, N
Isabella L, 30
Mary L, 3
Henry L, 9
Dorothy L, 5 months
=============================
Henry Hall, 42, Lab, N

Thornton’s Buidings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Raine, 30
Ann R, 30
Elizabeth R, 9
James R, 7
Ann R, 6
Mary R, 4
Jane R, 10 months

NB: Thornton’s Buildings were probably owned by and named after Parkin Thornton, landlord of the Mason’s Arms. They disappear after this census and probably were one of the yards of Back South Railway Street or merged with it.

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Isabella Wealands, 55, Dressmaker

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Thompson, 25, Lab
Isabella T, 25
=============================
Joseph T, 30, Lab

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Slater, 20, Seaman, N(S)
Margaret S, 20

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Newton, 25, Seaman
Mary N, 20
James N, 8 months

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Andrew Robson, 45, Seaman
Isabella R, 40
James R, 19, Carpenter
Elizabeth R, 15

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Adamson, 40, Seaman’s wife
William A, 10
Andrew A, 5

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary McLashon, 45, Seaman’s wife
=============================
Sarah Fifam (?), 45, Seaman’s wife
Robert Fifam (?), 45, Seaman

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Ritson, 54, N
George R, 16, N

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Ward, 25, Seaman’s wife
Ellen W, 3
Martha W, 2
Ann W, 3 months

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Hannah Harrison, 30, Seaman’s wife
Ann H, 12, N
Isabella H, 8, N
Thomas H, 5, N
Elizabeth H, 2

Thornton’s Buildings – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Cuthbert Pattison, 35, Seaman
Alice P, 30
Ann P, 3
Joseph P, 2

(South) Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Hall, 20, Shoemaker
Elizabeth H, 20

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John T. Moor, 25, Lawyer, N
Mary M, 20

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Blair, 38, Master Shoe Maker
Jane B, 39
Joseph B, 10
Catherine B, 8
Elizabeth B, 15
===========
John Camble [Campbell], 20, Shoemaker, N(I )
William Portous, 17, Shoemaker

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census (Golden Lion)
George Reed, 40, Butcher
Ann R, 30
Jane R, 12
Anna R, 10
John R, 8
Mary R, 6
Elizabeth R, 4
George R, 2
Elenor R, 4 months

NB: According to Pigot’s Trade Directory of County Durham (1834 edition) George Reed was also a publican. The beasts were probably slaughtered in the courtyard of the pub.

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Marwood, 32(?) , Farm Lab
John Davison, 25, Coach Driver

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Smith, 40, Master Shoe Maker
=============================
Charles Harbron, 15, App

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Storey, 35, Grocer
Elizabeth S, 30
Mary S, 12
William S, 5
John S, 2

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Greenwell, 34, Butcher
Margaret G, 29
Sarah G, 5
Maria G, 3
Thomas G, 1
=============================
Sarah Mustard, 13, Farm Lab

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Malcolm McLear, 45, Lab, N(S)
Esther M, 50, N
=============================
Thomas Bowmaker, 20, Hairdresser

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Lister, 30, Lab
Elizabeth L, 25
George L, 10
William L, 8
Isabella L, 2
=============================
Joseph Holcroft, 20, Lab, N(I )
John Hand, 24, Lab, N(I )

(South) Railway Street (Wellington Inn)

Edward Burwood, 45, Innkeeper, N
Isabella B, 35
Charlton B, 11
=============================
Ann Robinson, 20, Farm Lab
Edward Earle, 20,
Seaman, N
Thomas Watson, 25, Seaman, N
George (surname unknown), 25, Seaman, N
James Lawson, 25, Musician

NB: The 1st. Duke of Wellington, an old Napoleonic Wars comrade of the 3rd. Marquess, visited Seaham in 1827 before the new town and harbour were constructed.

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Field, 45, Bread Baker
Mary F, 45
William F, 20, Grocer
John F, 12, App
=============================
Samuel Myers, 12, App
Ann Cunningham, 15, Farm Lab

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Elemore, 25, Shopkeeper
James E, 15, App

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Gibson Keenliside, 25, Grocer, N
Isabella K, 30
Ann Bell, 14
William Bell, 8
Isabella Bell, 5 months

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Sarah Painter, 25, Seaman’s wife, N

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Givens, 76, Seaman, N

(South) Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Henry Smith, 40, Mason
=============================
Margaret Whitehead, 60, Farm Lab

NB: The first Whitehead arrives in Seaham but this waif and stray has no connection with me. My Whiteheads would not arrive until about 1907, drawn from Newcastle by the lure of the new Dawdon Colliery.

(South) Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ann Stephenson, 55, Widow
Joseph S, 30, Pedlar
Ann S, 15
Mary S, 12
=============================
John Brown, 55, Keelman

(South) Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Chilton, 45, Master Shoe Maker
Isabella C, 30
John C, 10
Thomas C, 8
Isabella C, 2
=============================
William Fenton, 30, Shoe Maker, N
Sarah Lister, 20, Dressmaker
George Stranghair [Straughair], 30, Master Shoe Maker
Jane S, 32
=============================
John Williamson, 5
Edward Briggs, 39, Seaman, N
John Trobe [Probe], 16, App
William Pearson, 15, App
John Stranghair [Straughair], 18, App

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Michael Copeland, 35, Seaman
Johannah C, 35
James C, 15
Martha C, 15
Mary C, 10
Elizabeth C, 3
Susanna, C, 2

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Spoors, 23
Jane S, 23
Ward S, 2
Mary S, 2 months

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Grieves, 40, Trimmer
Elizabeth G, 35
Dorothy G, 10
Robert G, 8
John G, 5
George G, 3
Mary G, 10 months

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jane Davison, 68

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
David Thompson, 25, Brakesman, N(S)
Hannah T, 25
Elizabeth T, 11 months

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Matthews, 36, Lab, N
Ann M, 36
Jane M, 8
Mary M, 6
Margaret M, 4

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Laverick, 35, Blacksmith
Mary L, 30
Thomas L, 2
William L, 1
=============================
Thomas Laverick, 69, Seaman
Mary Arrowsmith, 64

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Hall, 35, Roper
Mary H, 35
Mary H, 8
Ann H, 4

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
David Jackson, 40, Lab
Arabella J, 46
Mary J, 14
George J, 11
Jane J, 8
Thomas J, 6

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Hay, 20, Seaman’s wife

(South) Railway St – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Henderson Mudd, 38, Lab, N
Dorothy M, 29
=============================
Ann Gill, 12, N

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Lister, 60, Paper Maker
Ann L, 55
=============================
Thomas Brady, 20, Lab, N(I )
James Hamill, 15, Lab, N(I )
Barney Hamill, 20, Lab, N(I )
Stephen Fitzpatrick, 50, Lab, N(I )
Thomas Shovalar, 25, Lab, N(I )
Michael Matthews, 30, Lab, N(I )
James Morfey [Murphy], 20, Lab, N(I )
Tarrens Tramar, 25, Lab, N(I )

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Matthew Howey, 40, Trimmer
Mary H, 37
Ann H, 15
Margaret H, 13
Mary H, 9
Sarah H, 7

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Blench, 30, Roper
Elizabeth B, 30
David B, 7
Henry B, 4
=============================
Stephen Fitzpatrick, 50, Lab, N(I )

(South) Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Taylor, 36, Lab
Mary T, 45, N
George Anick, 18, Lab, N

(South) Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Littlefair, 30, Lab
Elizabeth L, 30
Dorothy L, 7
Mary L, 5
George L, 3
Thomas L, 1

(South) Railway St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Richard Mackey, 35, Seaman
Sarah M, 35
William M, 15
Mary M, 14
Sarah M, 14
Richard M, 7
Daniel M, 6
Charles M, 2
John M, 1 month

(South) Railway Street (Mason’s Arms) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Parkin Thornton, 35, Mason
Jane T, 35
Mary T, 11
Parkin T, 9
Catherine T, 7
Jane T, 5
Isabella T, 4
Robert T, 2
John T, 3 months
=============================
William Walker, 67, Seaman, N
John Thornton, 40, Seaman

NB: Parkin Thornton was probably also the owner of Thornton’s Buildings

Dawdon Hall – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Earnshaw, 40, Trimmer
Elizabeth E, 35
John E, 15
Thomas E, 10
George E, 8
Jane E, 5
Elizabeth E, 3
Robert E, 1
=============================
Robert Crosby, 30, Cartman

NB: Dawdon (or Dalden) Hall, which stood next to Dalden Towers, was described as ‘decrepit’ some 60 years before this census. Sir Ralph Milbanke, lord of the manor, rejected it and preferred to live in ‘The Cottage’ when he came to live in Seaham in c.1778. ‘The Cottage’ was demolished in 1792 to make way for Seaham Hall. As you can see four families were living in Dawdon Hall in 1841. It had three families in 1851 but was abandoned as a habitation by the time of the 1861 census.

Dawdon Hall – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Watson, 27, Lab
Hannah W, 25, N
Mary W, 2
Dinah W, 6 months
=============================
Robert Cowley, 29, Lab

Dawdon Hall – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Janet Huitson, 40, Farm Lab
Mary H, 30
James H, 5
Ellen H, 10 months
=============================
Elizabeth Snowden, 70
John Cully, 15, Manual Lab

Dawdon Hall – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Stephenson, 23, Dressmaker, N
Ann S, 20, Dressmaker, N

Frances St – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census.
John Short, 45, Merchant Sailor, N
Jane S, 45, N(S)
Sarah S, 12, N
John S, 10, N
Jane S, 6
=============================
Adam (surname unknown), 20, Lab, N

NB: Frances Street, named after the Marchioness, had only one house at this point. History has come full circle for today there is only one house left – the Volunteers Arms.

Dean House Farm – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Richard Oliver, 50, Lab
Jane O, 50
George O, 24, Lab
Mary O, 18
Thomas O, 12
Richard O, 5

NB: Dean (or Dene) House Farm stood on the site of the modern Telephone Exchange and above what became Seaham Co-op. It definitely predated the rest of the town of Seaham Harbour. When the Rainton and Seaham Railway was constucted the farm was cut off from its fields and with the dene to the rear there was no exit. A bridge (which still exists)was thrown across the Rainton & Seaham Railway to give access to the fields to the south. Eventually the Marlborough area was developed as was the area between the farm and Henry Street and Dene House Farm became an agricultural oasis in the middle of the heavily industrialised town. It was demolished in the 1950s.

Dean House Farm – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Hope, 30, Lab, N
Mary H, 36
William H, 9

Dean House Farm – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Maugham, 28, Lab
Catherine M, 28
Thomas M, 7
William M, 5
Eleanor M, 1

New Lodge – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Reed, 50, Lab, N
Elizabeth R, 45, N
Rebecca R, 14, N
Jane R, 6, N
=============================
June Robinson, 16, N

NB: I have not yet identified where this structure was. It may have been called South Lodge in the 1851 census but then it disappears.

Garden House – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ralph Fair, 25, Gardener
Jane F, 25
Jane F, 3
Ralph F, 2
Dorothy F, 1
=============================
Jane Kinross, 15, Dom Serv

NB: Garden House later became a pub, ‘Adam & Eve’s Gardens’. In the 1960s Mr. C. A. Smith wrote a number of articles about Seaham in the Sunderland Echo and in one of them he mentions an interesting story about the Fair family: Ralph Fair’s elder brother emigrated to the United States and did extremely well for himself in business. He eventually became a Senator and his daughter married into the fabulously wealthy Vanderbilt family. Ralph’s descendants in Seaham today (and there must be many) are therefore all related to that illustrious American family whose most famous modern member is Gloria.

Tempest Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Usher, 49, Lieut, RN, N(I )
Ann U, 39, N(I )
Elizabeth U, 19, N(I )
Emma U, 17, N(I )
Dorothy U, 15, N(I )
Mary U, 13, N(I )
Julia U, 8, N(I )
Kathleen U, 3, N(I )
William U, 2, N(I )
=============================
Frances Gibson, 20, Dom Serv

NB: Only one house as yet in Tempest Place.

Baths – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Fairless, 50, Lab
Elizabeth F, 43
Hall Davison, 35, Mariner
William Davison, 15

NB: William Fairless fought alongside Lord Londonderry against Napoleon and became Seaham’s first lighthouse keeper.

Mill (?) House – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Hall, 64, Lab
Mary H, 57
William Brown, 24, Mason
Mary Brown, 19
John Thompson, 27, Lab

NB: The Mill House is mentioned later in the census. Quite where this Mill House was is not apparent from maps of the period. Logically it should be near to the Baths and North Terrace. Seaham did have a steam mill for corn and a saw mill but these were a quarter of a mile to the south. As you can see it was big enough to house four families.

Mill House – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Fairless, 20, Ingineer [engineer]
James Nelless, 20, Joiner, N

Mill House – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Jameson, 45, Ingineer [engineer]
Elizabeth J, 43
Thomas J, 15, Blacksmith’s App
Mary J, 13
Elenor J, 10
Frances J, 4

Mill House – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Johnson, 20, Currier, N

(Number 1 ? ) North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Rutherford, 25, Druggist
Robert R, 20, Draper
Percival Laidlaw (?), 20, Lab
George Robson, 15, App, N
George S. Adamson, 15, App
Ann Lawson, 55, House Keeper
Hannah Hunter, 18, Dom Serv, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Edward Lazonby, 35, Shoe Maker
Isabella Liddle, 40, House Keeper, N
Ann Lazonby, 14
Elizabeth L, 10
Robert L, 5
=============================
William Curry, 40, Shoe Maker

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Johnson, 60, Shopkeeper
Mary Johnson, 58
Elenor Gradon, 17, Dom Serv

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Henry Herbis (?), 45, Mariner, N
Elizabeth H, 44, N
=============================
Ann Martin, 15, Dom Serv

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Newton, 41, Draper, N
Bentham Hall, 35, Lab, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Watson, 25, Tailor & Draper, N
Jane W, 25, N
William W, 5, N
John W, 3
Robert W, 2
Jane W, 1
=============================
Ebenezer Kell, 60, Carpenter, N
Elizabeth K, 55, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Roddam, 35, Joiner, N
Elenor R, 38, N
Mary Pearson, 16
Elenor Pearson, 14

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Vipon [Vipond], 40, Carpenter
Mary V, 35

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Mason, 35, Carpenter
Sarah M, 25
Lidia(?) M, 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Whitfield, 63, Joiner
Jane W, 51
William W, 21, Joiner
Emily W, 15

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Ashforth, 43, Potter, N
Elizabeth A, 45
Elizabeth A, 11
Jane A, 10
Isabella A, 7
Thomas A, 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Hall, 74, Lawyer, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
David Fernie, 20, Tailor & Draper
Jane F, 20
William Thompson, 15, App
John Mannal \(?) [Mennell or Manuel], 10, App, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Fowler, 35, Mariner, N
Ann F, 33
William F, 8
Ann F, 6
George F, 4
Robert F, 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Robson, 25, Draper
Anthony Robson, 20, Lab
Mary R, 25, House Keeper
William Stratford [Stafford], 11, App

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Dorothy Bond, 50
Mary Shirkit [Sharkey], 24
Elizabeth Jones, 23
Hannah Bond, 9

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census (King’s Arms)
John French, 40, Butcher
Mary F, 45
John F, 15, App
Ann F, 11
Mary F, 5
Elizabeth F, 3

NB: John French was another publican/butcher according to Pigots Directory of 1834.

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Hannah Bellarby, 25
Robert Goodwill, 15

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Christopher Skinner, 30, Clericus[clerk], N
Emma S, 30, N
Charles S, 1, N
William S, 3 months
=============================
Ann Marwood, 18, Dom Serv

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Coxon, 30
Jane C, 30
Samuel C, 8
Ann C, 5
John C, 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Henry Smith, 29, Druggist & Chemist
Harriet S, 25
John Wilkinson, 4
Frederick Prosser (?), 12, App

NB: Henry Wall Smith would later build Seaham’s first Gasworks.

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Dent, 50, Lab
Elizabeth D, 43
Jane D, 5

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Lee, 50, Agent to the Marquess of Londonderry, N
Ann L, 20
Elizabeth L, 17
Elizabeth Jansson (?), 15, Dom Serv

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jane Maddy, 49, Shopkeeper, N
Elizabth M, 19, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Rockliffe, 28, N
Jane R, 21, N
Joseph Maddy, 11
James Rockliffe, 1
=============================
William Brown, 20, Mariner, N
Female (name not known), 26, Lodger
Male (name not known), 45, Mariner, N(S)
Male (name not known), 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census (Lord Seaham Inn) (18)
Thomas Prosser, 54, Builder, N
Mary P, 56, N
James P, 20, Joiner, N
John Savage, 20, R. Police (?), N
=============================
George Hire, 29, N(S)
Ann H, 23, N

NB: According to Pigots Trade Directory (1834) Thomas Prosser was a surveyor, builder and publican. The Lord Seaham is now called the Harbour View Hotel and next door to the south is a passageway through to what was Back North Terrace. This became known as Prosser’s Opening or Prosser’s Entry (see picture above) and will be mentioned again in later censuses. Originally the passageway was a tunnel with several families recorded as having lived above it.

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census (Lord Seaham Inn ?)
Jane Hall, 22
Mary Tasker, 27
Mary Tasker, 3
Elizabeth T, 6 months

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census (Lord Seaham Inn)
David Fernie, 50, Innkeeper
Margaret F, 52
Solomon F, 19
Margaret F, 13
=============================
Frances Tomplinson, 20, N
Mary Ridley, 15, N
Samuel Goodwin, 40, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Watt, 23, Carpenter
Mary W, 20

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Andrew Wilkie, 25, Mariner, N(S)
Phyllis W, 22
Thomas W, 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Smith, 30, Mariner, N
Thomas Brown, 55, Pilot
Isabella B, 55
Margaret B, 15
Robinson B, 10
Jane B, 5

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Gray, 37
Jane Gray, 17
Mary Gray, 4

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jacob Sanderson, 58, Mariner
Ann S, 59
=============================
Elizabeth Baxter, 25
William Nicholson, 25

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Sarah Webb, 60, Post Office
Richard W, 25, Agent
Ann W, 25, Schoolmistress

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Isabella Goss, 21
Jane G, 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Hobkirk, 45, Mariner
Jane H, 46
Robert H, 23, Lab
Thomas H, 18, Lab
Sarah H, 15
William H, 12
Jane H, 8

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Peregrine Henzel, 44,
Clerk, N
Jane H, 39, N
Jane H, 16, N
Ann H, 15, N
Mary H, 9, N
=============================
Margaret Bowmaker, 43, Visitor, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Harrison, 46, Pilot
Ann H, 52
Mary H, 17
John H, 13

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth French, 23
Catherine Harrison, 10

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Reaveley, 41, Harbour Master
Ann R, 36
Thomas R, 12
Ann R, 10
Ralph R, 8
Henry R, 6
Alice R, 2
Edmund R, 1 month
=============================
Jane Walker, 20, Dom Serv

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Robson, 55, Lab
Dorothy R, 51

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Scott, 30, Pilot
Elenor S, 31
Michael S, 10
Thomas S, 7
John S, 5
William S, 3
Elenor S, 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Peter Bailey, 41, Lab, N
Charlotte B, 38

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Isabel Still, 37, N(S)
Robert S, 12, N(S)
Barbarah S, 7, N(S)
James S, 7, (N)
Mary S, 6, N(S)

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Short, 41, Carrier, N
Margaret S, 38
John S, 15
Elizabeth S, 11
Margaret S, 9
Catherine S, 6
Hannah S, 3
=============================
Jane Finlaw, 70, Lodger, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Edward Watson, 57, Lab, N
Charles Watson, 27, Hairdresser, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Edward Glasper [Clasper], 60, Lawyer, N
Isabella G, 60, N
Edward G, 30, Lawyer, N
Mary G, 30
Thomas G, 2

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Atkinson, 25, Shoemaker
John Sewel, 20, Shoe Maker, N

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ann Fowler, 30
Mary F, 8, N
George F, 6, N
Henry F, 4, N
John F, 1

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Horn, 25, Joiner
Frances Horn, 18

North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Margaret Nichols, 38

Back or Behind North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Charles Clarke, 37, Shoe Maker, N
Jane Clarke, 40, N
James McAll, 26, Lab, N(I )
Thomas Kirk, 20, Lab (I )
Thomas Gilmore, 20, Lab, N(I )
John McCerny, 21, Lab, N(I )

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
David Davison, 31, Mariner, N(F)
Margaret D, 30
Charles D, 9
=============================
Robert Hobkirk, 24, Mariner, N
Margaret Elemer, 18, Lodger

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Smith, 34,
Mariner, N
Ann S, 39

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Costello, 30, Lab, N
Mary Ann C, 30, N
Ann C, 11, N
James C, 9
Thomas C, 7
Michael C, 4
George C, 1
=============================
James Scott, 13, Lodger

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Eleanor Healer, 25, N
George H, 4
Dorothy H, 4

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Herron, 59

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Gilmore, 37, Mariner
Jane G, 36
Holms G, 9
Mary Ann G, 9
Sarah G, 1
Elizabeth G, 2 months

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Daniel Paul, 26, Butcher, N
Mary P, 25, N
Mary P, 9 months
=============================
Charlotte Gradon [Graydon], 24, Dom Serv

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
David Nicholson, 25, Roper, N
Grace N, 25, N(S)
Elizabeth N, 9, N(S)
Mary N, 6 months

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Clarke, 30, Brewer
Sarah C, 30, N
Mary C, 7
Frances C, 3
Sarah C, 1
=============================
Hannah Storey, 25,
Lodger, N

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Healer, 53, N
Dorothy H, 54, N
William H, 24
George H, 19
Dorothy H, 13

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Watson, 50, Innkeeper
Ruth W, 36
Susannah W, 17
Mary W, 8
Ruth W, 4
Elizabeth W, 1
=============================
Thomas Hope, 25, Lab

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Watson, 77, Widow
Mary Minto, 13

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Angles, 64, Lab
Mary A, 68, N

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ann Adamson, 38
Matthew A, 3

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Ferry, 48, Lab
Elizabeth F, 40
George F, 14
John F, 6
Jane F, 4
Mary Ann F, 6 months
===============
Jane Adamson, 77
George A, 16, Lab

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Thompson, 30, Tailor, N(S)
Elizabeth T, 24, N
Robert T, 8 months
Ann Thompson, 56, N(S)

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Almond, 23, Mariner
Sarah A, 21
Elizabeth A, 5 months

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Thurbuck, 54, Pilot
Mary T, 55
Sarah T, 19
John T, 14
George T, 11

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Francis Calvert, 48, Master Mariner, N
Mary Coulson, 25, Schoolmistress, N

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Lorance (sic) Harkess, 30, Mariner, N
Ann H, 25, N
Elizabeth Whitmarsh, 64, Lodger, N

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Pickerine [Pickering], 50, Lab
Elizabeth P, 50
John P, 15, Lab
Elizabeth P, 15

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Walton, 45, Lab
Emma W, 43
Peter W, 20, Lab
John W, 16, Lab
Mary W, 7
=============================
Henry Laws, 20, Mariner, N

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Beswick, 35, Brewer
Alice B, 30

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Lee, 47, Lab
Ann Lee, 41, N
Ann L, 14
Jane L, 13
=============================
Edward Hunter, 20, Lab, N

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Richard Watson, 38, Mariner
Mary W, 33
John W, 14
Michael W, 10
Richard W, 7
William W, 7
Mary W, 1

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Percival Spoors, 50, Trimmer
Jane S, 50
Ann S, 20
Percival S, 16, Painter
Mary S, 11
=============================
Thomas Jordan, 92, Lodger

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Scott, 35, N
Sarah Scott, 35, N
Mary S, 7
=============================
William Close, 65, Lab

John St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Haswell, 35, Butcher
Elizabeth H, 35
Thomas H, 9

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Alexander Kinross, 40, Bookbinder, N
Isabella K, 40
Page K, 14
Elen K, 12
Isabella K, 10
Thomas K, 7
Robert K, 4
John K, 1

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Deacon, 45, Lab, N
Ann D, 44, N
Henry D, 20, Carpenter, N
Robert D, 14, Lab, N
Ellen D, 12, N
Ann D, 10, N

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Jarret, 30, Blacksmith, N
Margaret J, 30
Thomas J, 6
Sarah J, 4
Margaret J, 2

John St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Isabella Ridley, 45, N
John R, 25, Carpenter, N
Deborah R, 15, N
Thomas R, 14, N
George R, 12
=============================
Matthew Christie, 10, Lodger

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Peter Thompson, 40, Lab, N
Jane T, 45, N
Mary T, 12, N
Peter T, 10, N
Alice T, 7

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Watson, 36, Mariner
Dorothy W, 33
John W, 13, Roper
William W, 11
Ann W, 9
Dorothy W, 7
Isabella W, 3

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Scott, 33, Couper [cooper]
Jane S, 30
John Scott, 77, Lodger

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Pearson, 25, Mariner
Mary P, 25
Elizabeth P, 6
Thompson P, 4
Elenor P, 2
=============================
Elizabeth Christie, 70

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Marshall, 29, Pilot
Elizabeth M, 30
Margaret M, 4
John M, 1

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Sarah Scott, 50, N
Elizabeth S, 12

NB: John Street was named after John Tempest, great grandfather of Lady Frances Anne

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Stephenson, 27, Pilot
Mary S, 26
George S, 4
Alexander S, 2

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
David Howey or Howie, 68, Lab
Margaret H, 63
George H, 25
Margaret H, 20
Alice H, 19

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Mould, 35, Pilot
Catherine M, 30
William M, 8
Elenor M, 4
Iom (?) (female) M, 1
Robert M, 7

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Young, 51, Trimmer, N
Dina Y, 54, N
Mary Y, 20, N
Cornelius Y, 13, N
Susannah Y, 10, N
John Street
William Rutherford, 40, Farmer
Jane Walton, 12
Elizabeth Walton, 8
Jane Caygill (or Baygill), 25,
Dom Serv, N

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Dobson, 50, Pilot
Abigail D, 54
Elizabeth D, 20
Charlotte D, 17
Abigail D, 15
Margaret D, 10

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Sanderson, 53, Pilot, N
Mary S, 55, N
William S, 14, N (S or I)
Mary S, 15, N(S or I)
Ann S, 20, N

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Scott, 35, Pilot
Elizabeth S, 32
Ruth S, 10
Robert S, 9
Elizabeth S, 7
William S, 5
Mary S, 3
George S, 1

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Elenor (or Elemore), 24, Pilot
Margaret E, 20
Robert E, 1

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Brewse or Bruce, 29
Elizabeth B, 29
John B, 8
William B, 6

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Adamson, 46
Ann A, 40
Mary A, 16
George A, 14
John A, 10
Robert A, 8
William A, 6
Elizabeth A, 4
Hannah A, 2 months
=============================
John Wake, 30, Lab, Lodger, N

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John English, 50,
Gardener, N
Sarah E, 48, N

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Nicholson, 47, Mariner, N
Margaret N, 35
William N, 15
Joseph N, 11
Hannah N, 7, N
Mary N, 5, N
Timothy N, 2
Thomas N, 1 month

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Garrett, 50, N
Margaret G, 40, N
Margaret G, 10
Elenor G, 8
Ann G, 1

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ann Coles, 28
Ann Dobson, 66
Henry Coles, 8
Ann Coles, 5
George C, 3

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ann Gibson, 37

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Gibson, 21

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Anderson, 40, Trimmer
Mary A, 40
Ann A, 15
William A, 12
Thomas A, 10
John A, 8

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Akenhead, 35,
Lab, N
Jane A, 30, N
William A, 5, N
Adam A, 3 months
Mary A, 2
=============================
Stephen Ralph, 15,
Lodger, N

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Fox, 25, Prison Service (?), Born Ireland
Margaret F, 20, N(I )

John Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Akenhead, 37, Lab, N
Elenor A, 30, N
Sarah A, 5
William A, 3
Margaret A, 1

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Watson, 56, Straw Hat/Bonnet Maker, N
Mary Watson, 20, Straw Hat Maker, N

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Dobson, 30, Pilot
Mary D, 30
John D, 7
Mary D, 5
Henry D, 5
Thomas D, 5 months

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Nathan Close, 60, Pensioner (?)
Isabella C, 40

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Emmesson (sic) or Emmerson, 25, Mariner
Sarah E, 20
James E, 6 months

North Railway Street (Noah’s Ark) (1) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Dorothy Stokeld, 50
Ann S, 21
Mary S, 19
Jane S, 17
John S, 15
James S, 13
George S, 11
Thomas S, 4
=============================
James Patterson, 30, Master Mariner

NB: According to Pigots Trade Directory for 1834 Thomas Stokeld was the landlord of the Noah’s Ark. He had probably died since then and Dorothy was his widow.

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Johnston, 65, Shopkeeper, N
June J, 63, N(S)
John J, 25, Lab

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elen Neal (sic) or Neill, 55, N(S)
Ebenezer Niel (sic), 15, N
David Niel, 15, N
Robert McKenzie, 5, N
Elen Cameron, 4, N

North Railway Street (Forester’s Arms) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Gibson, 25, Innkeeper, N
Ann G, 25
Thomas G, 3
Joseph G, 1
=============================
Ann Foster, 16, Dom Serv

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary A. Humphrey, 20
Ann Carr, 15
Mary Humphry, 1

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Gallowley, 52, N
Jane G, 26, N
Robert G, 20,
Blacksmith, N
Thomas G, 8

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Reay, 62, Coast Guard, N
Sarah R, 59, N
Susannah R, 21, N
James R, 18, Carpenter, N
John Reay, 12, N
=============================
James Thompson, 43, Mariner, N

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Kidd, 41, Shoe Maker, N
Margaret K, 40, N
Thomas K, 8
Mary K, 14
Jane K, 10
Elizabeth K, 5
Margaret K, 3

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Lightly, 20, Blacksmith
Sarah L, 20
Jane L, 1
Alexander Beaton, 23, Shoe Maker, N(S)
Matthew Cairney, 35, Lab, N(I )
John Bailey, 24, Lab, N
Michael Brannan, 34, Lab, N(I )
Edward Hair, 30, Lab, N(I or S)

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Hannah Teasdale, 56
Martin T, 17, Lab, N
=============================
Michael McCormack, 28, Lab, N(I )
Thomas McGummy (?), 23, Lab, N(I )

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Royal, 40, Pilot
Sarah R, 47
William R, 19, Blacksmith’s App
John R, 15, App Joiner
Henry R, 13
Elizabeth Foster, 17, Dom Serv

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Richard Lenard (sic) or Leonard, 25, Shopkeeper
Elizabeth L, 35
John L, 4
Thomas L, 2
Elizabeth L, 10 months
=============================
Robert Barker, 10
Thomas Paxton, 25, Lab
Elizabeth Paxton, 65, Widow

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Merrington, 43, Master Mariner
Sarah M, 44
Thomas M, 20, Lab
George M, 12
Elizabeth M, 9
Mary M, 6
Matthew M, 3 months
=============================
Mary Williamson, 45

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Alexander Graham, 27, Mariner, N(S)
Mary G, 28
Mary G, 17, N(S)
Margaret G, 22, N(S)
Isabella G, 2, N(S)

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Dixon, 25, Lab, N
Elizabeth D, 30
Ann Dawson, 12

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Troal, 42,
Trimmer, N
Ann T, 38
Mary T, 12
William T, 6
Dorothy T, 4

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Walker, 45, Trimmer
Barbray (sic) W, 46
Barbray, 24
Thomas W, 16, Lab
Michael W, 14
Ann W, 12
Hannah W, 10
Elizabeth W, 7
Dorothy W, 5

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Walker, 40, Trimmer, N
Ann W, 40, N
Stephen W, 19, Teacher, N
John Walker, 17, Lab, N
Joseph W, 14, N
=============================
Mary Chapman, 20, Dom Serv

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Alice Lowery or Lowrey, 37
James L, 21, Lab
William L, 10, App

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Oliver, 21, Lab
Jane O, 19

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Ridley, 38, Lab
Elizabeth R, 36
Mary R, 11
Elizabeth R, 9
Hannah R, 4
John R, 1
=============================
Thomas Welsh, 40, Lab, N(I )

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Hood, 26, Trimmer
Elizabeth H, 27
Margaret H, 3
Thomas H, 1

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Roland Richardson, 44, Trimmer
Sarah R, 43, N
Sarah R, 12
Peter R, 2

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Charles Merchant, 38, Mariner, N
Alice M, 40, N
James Sanders or Saunders, 15, Carp’s App, N

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Richard Reed or Reid, 53, Trimmer, N
Hannah R, 51, N
Isaac R, 22, Lab, N
Thomas R, 19, Lab, N
James R, 16, Mariner, N
Robert R, 14, N
George R, 10
Richard R, 10, N
Henry R, 6

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Herron, 34, Lab
Isabella H, 34
George H, 9

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomesina Lee, 25
James L, 3
George L, 5 months

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Dennis McFratten (?), 65, Lab, N(I )
Jannet McF, 59, N(I )
Grace McF, 25, N(I )
John McF, 23, Lab, N(I )
James McF, 21, Lab, N(I )
Catherine McF, 19, N(I )

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Scott, 33, Joiner
Ann S, 38
Mary S, 11
Robert S, 8
William S, 6
Fenwick S, 4
Elizabeth S, 1

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
David Ridley, 60
Mary R, 55
Thomas R, 16, Blacksmith’s App
North Railway. St. (Lynn Arms ?)
George Bamborah (sic) or Bambrough, 43, Trimmer
Ann B, 43
Isabella B, 14
Ann B, 10
Mary B, 12
George B, 6
Anthony B, 9 months

NB: According to Pigots Trade Directory (1834) George Bambrough was also a publican

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Dennis, 30, Shoe Maker, N
Jane D, 30, N
William D, 12, N
Jane D, 8, N
Ann D, 4, N
James D, 3, N
Thomas D, 8 months

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Bell, 60, Lab, N
Jane B, 49
Jane B, 6
William B, 4
=============================
Elizabeth Turnbull, 20, N
James Courier, 45, N(I )
John Black, 40, N(I )
Peter McLachan, 40, N(I )
Patrick Wind, 30, N(I )
Edward Wilkinson, 35, N(I )

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Cowell, 36, Trimmer, N
Elizabeth C, 41, N
Margaret C, 20, Dressmaker, N
Isabell C, 13, N
George C, 10, N
Elizabeth C, 8

North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Susannah Jeffery, 43
Elizabeth J, 17
Ann Ayre, 26

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Bamborah (sic) or Bambrough, 26, Lab
Elizabeth B, 26
Sarah B, 8
Mary B, 5

NB: Henry (1821-84) Stewart was the eldest son of the 3rd. Marquess and Frances Anne. On his father’s death in 1854 he became Earl Vane. On the death of his mother Frances Anne in 1865 he inherited most of her possessions, including Seaham Harbour and the Durham collieries. On the death of his half-brother Frederick in 1872 he became the 5th. Marquess of Londonderry. He was the owner of Seaham Colliery at the time of the disasters of 1871 and 1880.

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Carter, 70, Lab
Jane C, 24, Dressmaker

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Hall, 25
Elizabeth H, 26
Sarah H, 3
William H, 4 months

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Hobson, 45, Lab
Mary H, 35
Michael H, 14

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Sarah Charlton, 27, N(S)
Jane Charlton, 2

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jane Moor, 75, Widow, N

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Henderson, 40
Jane H, 13
Mary H, 9
Margaret H, 4
Isabella H, 2

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Maudlin, 73
Sarah M, 48
Elizabeth M, 13

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Margaret Crown, 43, N

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Lamb, 40, Master Mariner, N
Virginea (sic) L, 34, N(F)
Virginea L, 2 months

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Storey, 30
William S, 12
Ann S, 10
Elizabeth S, 8
Thomas S, 4
Mary S, 2

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Davison (or Davidson), 24, Lab
Mary D, 21
Robert D, 3
Jane D, 1

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Andrew Ayre, 55
Hannah A, 53
John A, 16

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Frederick Quilter (?), 30, Mariner, N
Isabella Q, 25
Frederick Q, 2
Martha Q, 4 months

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Foggin, 25, Tailor, N
Isabella F, 25, N
William F, 2, N
Francis F, 3 months
=============================
Mary Foster (or Forster), 10,
Dom Serv, N
Edward Short, 15, Tailor, N

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Isabella Oakes, 50
Humphrey O, 14

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Webb, 33
Charlotte W, 9
Richard W, 7
Mary W, 6
Frances W, 1

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Hood, 70, Lab, N
Margaret McDonald, 46, Widow, N
Phillis H, 28, N
Joseph H, 32, Surgeon, N
=============================
Isabella Rutherford, 40, Lodger, N(S)
Margaret Pattison (Patterson), 5

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Todd, 45, Mason
Ruth T, 48
Ruth Park, 16, Dom Serv

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Harrison, 40, Mason
Dorothy H, 35
Thomas H, 19
Robert H, 12
Ester H, 6
Christianna H, 3

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Hood, 32, Trimmer
Jane H, 33
William H, 9
Jane H, 6
Margaret H, 2

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Bell, 30
Ann B, 30, N
Thomas B, 6
Robert B, 4
John B, 2
Ann B, 2 months

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Richardson, 38, Trimmer
Sarah R, 35
Mary R, 10
Thomas R, 8
Margaret R, 4
Sarah R, 1

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Bamborah (sic) or Bambrough, 26, Lab
Hannah B, 23
John B, 2

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Walker, 45, Trimmer
Ann W, 40
Ann W, 16
Elizabeth W, 15
Mary W, 13
Hannah W, 11
Michael W, 9
Joan W, 6
Eliza W, 4
Thomas W, 2
Elenor W, 9 months

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Patrick (?) Brown, 48, Trimmer
Jane B, 14
Thomas B, 12
George B, 10

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Adam (?) Armstrong, 57, Lab
Ann A, 56
John A, 30
Ann A, 20
Isabella A, 18
George A, 16
Mary A, 14

Henry St. – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Agnes Glanville (?), 70, N
Susannah Drury (?), 50
George Drury, 20, Mariner

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Nicholson (?), 36, Shoe Maker(?)
Mary N, 25
Isabel N, 12, N
Thomas N, 9
Elenor N, 7


NB: It is not entirely clear where Dean Place was. There were 13 households in the street in this 1841 census, 20 in the 1851 census, none in 1861, 1 in 1871 and then it vanishes without trace. I have tried comparing residents in different censuses but without success. Guesses ?

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Jameson, 27, Lab
Margaret J, 21
Margaret J, 6
Mary J, 11 months

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Morrow (?), 40, N(I )
Jane (?) M, 30

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Dina Shore (?) or Shaw, 28

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Adam Smith, 44
Thomas S, 15, Roper
Robert S, 13
Elenor S, 13
Margaret S, 13
John S, 6
Elizabeth S, 4

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Laws (?), 30, Lab
Jane L, 30
Mary L, 9
Jane L, 6
Ann L, 3

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Bernard O’Gorman (?), 56, N(I )
Elizabeth O’G, 60
John O’G, 15, N(I )

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Andrew Conway (?), 31, N
Ann C, 45, N
Elizabeth C, 8

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John White, 38, N(I )
Michael W, 26, N(I )
James Mooney (?), 30, N(I )
William McKean (?), 21, N(I )

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Jane Cunningham, 43
Ann C, 17
Jane C, 11
Mary C, 9
Elizabeth C, 5

Dean Place (Wheatsheaf Inn ?) – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Barker (?), 30
Elizabeth B, 23, N
James B, 1

NB: According to Pigots Trade Directory for 1834 an Elizabeth Barker was the landlady of the Wheatsheaf Inn. Locate the Wheatsheaf Inn and we will find out where Dean Place was.

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Alexander White, 35, N(S)
Elizabeth W, 35, N
Alexander W, 14, N(S)
Wilhelmina W, 6, N(S)
Mary W, 4
Elizabeth W, 6 months

Dean Place – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Sarah Bowery, 25, Dressmaker
Ann B, 20

Back/Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Joseph Dixon, 24, Lab
Mary D, 22

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Armstrong, 30, Trimmer
Ann A, 28
Mary A, 8
Margaret A, 7
Isabella A, 5
Jane A, 3

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Henry Baker, 25
Jane B, 25
John B, 4
Mary B, 2

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Boggan, 60, Lab
Ann B, 25

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Weddle or Weddell, 43, Sawyer
Ann W, 46, N
William W, 19
John W, 15
Albert W, 12
Mary W, 10

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Crawford, 26, Mason, N
Elizabeth C, 30

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Coverdale (?), 60, Widow

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Ord, 25, Lab
Mary O, 20
John O, 4
Mary O, 2

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Harrison, 40, Mariner
Margaret H, 35

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
George Oiston (?) or Oyston, 15
Elizabeth Connor, 3, N

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Spoors, 40, Trimmer
Mary S, 35
Elenor S, 17
Ann S, 16
Thomas S, 14
Robert S, 12
Mary S, 10
William S, 4
Percival S, 2

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Binley, 35, Postman
Emmelia (sic) B, 30, N
John B, 10

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Margaret Twogood (sic) or Toogood, 20

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Troale, 38, N
Sarah T, 26
William T, 3
John T, 1
=============================
John Shoreland, 40, N(I )

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Todd, 48, Mariner, N
Elizabeth T, 41, N
John T, 12
Sarah T, 5

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Elizabeth Miller, 20, N
William Miller, 6 months

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Dennis, 56, Mason, N
Hannah D, 50, N
Alfred D, 23,
Shoe Maker, N
William D, 19, Mason
Frederick D, 13
Daniel (?) D, 10

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Richard Pendlington, 30, Trimmer, N
Jane P, 28
George P, 8
Mary P, 3
James P, 7 months

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Lows or Lowes, 35, Lab
Sarah L, 40, N
Ann L, 14
James L, 12
William L, 8
=============================
William Roddam, 30, Teacher, N

Behind North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ralph Davison (or Davidson), 70, Keelman
William Davison (or Davidson), 50, Mariner

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Allen Nash, 40, Coast Guard, N
Sarah N, 35, N
Ann N, 18, N
Mary N, 16, N
William N, 14, N
Susannah N, 12, N
Emmey N, 11, N
Thomas N, 9, N
Allen N, 2, N

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Thomas Brewel or Brewell, 21, Trimmer, N
Mary B, 20
Charles B, 7 months

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Francis Stott, 26, Lab, N
Margaret S, 30, N
Sarah S, 4, N

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Kelley or Kelly, 36
Jane K, 14
James K, 13
Peter K, 11
Luke K, 4
Mary K, 2
Ester K, 2 months

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Ann Watson, 73, Widow

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Hannah Tinley, 30

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Barron, 35, Trimmer
Margaret B, 40
William B, 10
Jane B, 7
John B, 4
Mary B, 1
=============================
Elizabeth Clarke, 27, Dom Serv, N

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Benson, 70, Lab
Elizabeth B, 70

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Reed or Reid, 34, Lab
Hannah R, 32
William R, 8
John R, 6
Elizabeth R, 4
Anthony R, 2
Thomas R, 4 months

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Nicholson, 60, Builder
Mary N, 55

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
William Hays or Hayes, 35, Trimmer, N
Mary H, 34, N
Elizabeth H, 9
John H, 7
Mary H, 3
Andrew H, 1

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Taylor Elemore, 40, Pilot,
Margaret E, 38
George E, 8
Taylor E, 5

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Margery Thompson, 40, N(S)
Jennet (sic) T, 14, N(S)
John T, 13, N(S)
Jean, 11, N(S)
Margery T, 5, N(S)

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mary Wild or Wilde, 53

Back North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census Lock-Up (‘The Kitty’)
Male Prisoner, name unknown, 25, N
Male Prisoner, name unknown, 25, N

Behind North Railway Street – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Samual (sic) Myres or Myers, 50, Constable
Jane M, 20
Mary M, 15
Elizabeth M, 10
Sarah M, 8
Joseph M, 10
John M, 5

Behind North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
John Henry, 29, Mariner
Jane H, 23
Margaret H, 14
Mary H, 4

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Hewison (?) or Huitson or Hewitson, 30, Tailor, N
Mary H, 27
Joseph H, 6
James H, 5
Peter H, 3
Jane H, 1
=============================
William Garbut, 24, Itinerant Tailor

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Susannah Boys (?) or Boyes, 30
Thomas B, 14
William B, 11
George B, 6
Susannah B, 2

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Mark Graden or Graydon, 50, Lab, N
Sarah G, 45
Robert G, 4

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
Robert Martin, 29, Mariner
Ann M, 25
Walter M, 2

Back North Terrace – Dawdon (Seaham Harbour) 1841 Census
James Prayer (?), 30, Mariner, N
Sarah P, 30, N

Seaham (Old Seaham and outlying farms) and Seaton-with-Slingley

HO 107 312/313, folios 1 to 7

Seaham Vicarage – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Oswald Joseph Cresswell, 35, Vicar, N
Margaret Smith, 50, Servant
Ann Nuton, 25, Servant
Edward Lambourne, Servant, N

Seaham Grange – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
John Smith, 40, Farmer
Margaret S, 25
Jane Ann S, 5
Margaret S, 3
John S, 1
Jane Miller, 9
Jane King, 17, Servant, N
Thomas Milburn, 20, Servant, N
John Laten, 17, Servant
Robert Hutchinson, 16, Servant

Cherry Knowle – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
James Shotton, 62, Farmer
Catherine S, 58
William Turnbull, 23, Servant
Robert Milburn, 17, Servant
William Walker, 14, Servant
Jane Robson, 18, Servant
John M. Shotton, 12

Seaham – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Edward Dobson, 32, (profession unclear), N
Ann D, 29
Hannah D, 2
Isabella D, 6 months

Seaham Mill House – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
George Aird, 50, Farmer
Elizabeth A, 45
George A, 8
John James A, 4
George Watson, 15, Servant
Peter Watson, 14, Servant
Jane Lonsdale, 20, Servant

NB: Mill House was a farm house which stood very near to what today is the top of the Avenue at Deneside. It and the neighbouring farm Carr House were demolished to make way for the new Carr House (Deneside) estate in the late 1920s/ early 30s.

Seaham – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
George Atkinson (?), 35, Farmer, N
Henry Hudson, 25, Servant
William Robson, 25, Servant, N
Elenor Hudson, 30,
Servant, N
Jane Pattison (Patterson), 35, Servant

East Cherry Knowle – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Thomas Wallace, 28, Farmer
Isabella W, 28
Elizabeth W, 1
Mary Jane W, 1 month
Jacob Bradwell, 30, Servant
Mary Ann Moody (?), 15, Servant

Field House – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Edward Pattison (Patterson), 27, Farmer
Margaret P, 27, N(S)
Edward P, 11 months
Nick Smith, 72, Lodger
George Robson, 16, Servant
Mary Ann Brown, 17, Servant

Seaham Grange – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Thomas Rogers, 45, Farmer
Rachel R, 40
Margaret R. 15
Richard R, 5
William R, 3
John R, 1

Windy Hill – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Peter Smith, 45, Waggonway-wright
Isabella S, 45, N
Thomas S, 15
Susannah S, 13
Peter S, 11
James S, 9
John S, 5

Seaham Hall – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
George James, 50, Gardener, N
Mary J, 70

Seaham Cottage – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Thomas Davison (or Davidson), 28, Waggonway-wright
Elizabeth D, 27
John D, 4
Thomas D, 2

Seaham Brick Yard – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Robert Haswell Hunter, 45, Lab
Hannah H, 43
Hannah H, 17
Alexander Ford H, 13
John H, 8
Margaret H, 6

Carr House – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Edward Wilkinson, 50, Husbandman, N
Margaret W, 45, N
John W, 20, Husbandman
Elizabeth W, 14
Edward W, 12
Eleanor W, 8
Margaret W, 6
Mary Ann W, 4
John Moralee, 25, Farmer, N

NB: Carr House Farm was later run by the McNee family, founders of the Princess Dairy. One of their scions, the late Tom, wrote two books about Seaham in cooperation with David Angus.

Seaham – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
William Summerbell, 35, Husbandman
Mary S, 35
Margaret S, 11
John S, 10
Thomas S, 8
Andrew S, 6
William S, 4

Londonderry Engine Cottage 1 – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
William Gardner or Gardiner, 50, Engineman
Elizabeth G, 45, N
Andrew Maddison, 40, Lodgekeeper (?)

NB: The two Londonderry Engine Cottages mentioned here and in the next column were the first habitations in what would soon become Seaton/Seaham Colliery Pit Village. The Engine hauled the coal wagons up the last hill (the Londonderry Plane) on their way to Seaham Harbour from Rainton Colliery and other mines inland. The two cottages stood just behind what is now known as ‘Walter Willson’s’ shop. From there the last leg to the harbour was downhill all the way and a gravity incline was used.
This incline survived (working) until 1988 and is now being turned into a walkway.
Wouldn’t it be wonderful if it could be connected all the way back to the site of the old Londonderry pits at Rainton, Pittington, Framwellgate, Old Durham and elsewhere ?
An (almost) continuous walkway from the statue of the 6th. Marquess on North Terrace to the statue of his grandfather the 3rd. Marquess in the Market Square of our beautiful Cathedral city and county town. Surprisingly much of the trackbed in central Durham still survives and it is only the section between Seaham Colliery and the Copt Hill that would be the problem. At Copt Hill the Rainton & Seaham wagonway passed under the Hetton Colliery Railway and thus there already exists a walkway connecting down to Hetton, the Raintons and Pittington from there. Of all Seaham’s historic monuments it is the trackbed of the Rainton & Seaham which should be restored and preserved for future generations. The Rainton & Seaham railway brought life to our town in its infancy. If there had been no Rainton & Seaham there would have been no Seaham Harbour and history would have been very different.

Seaham Park Houses – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
William Ford, 35, Blacksmith
Elizabeth F, 35
John Ferguson, 15, Blacksmith’s App
Mary Irvin, 11

Seaham Hall – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Thomas Laycock, 35, Gardener
Isabella L, 40, Housekeeper, N
Margaret Hale, 30,
Lodger, N
John Hale, 10
Hannah Hale, 8


NB:
The Londonderry family were never resident at the Hall when the census was taken. They probably spent census nights at Wynyard or one of their other palatial mansions. The family occasionally organised shoots in the grounds of Seaham Hall in the early years but otherwise they never bothered much with the place. Wynyard was only 20 miles away and much more comfortable than what Frances Ann called her ‘little pigeon ducket’. Later however, after the death of her husband, she lived at Seaham Hall for much of the year.

Seaham Lodge – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
George Humble, 60, Lab
Jane H, 66
Joseph Coulthard, 4, Lodger

Seaham Park Houses – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
George Metcalfe, 35, Waggonman
Mary M, 35
Susannah Boyce, 7
John Boyce, 5
Ann Metcalf, 2 months

Seaham Park Houses – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
William Grieves or Greaves, 24, Coal Wagonman, N
Mary G, 26

Seaham Park Houses – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
James Linklater, 68, Independent, N(S)
Jane L, 60

Seaham Park Houses – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Richard Paxton, 35, Fitter (?)
Ann P, 35
Richard P, 3
Charlotte Longstaff, 20, Lodger
George Pattison (Patterson), 65, Lodger
George Monk——–?—-, 20, Lodger
George Blacket, 20, Lodger

Seaham Park Houses – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
William Nicholson, 43, Coal Waggonman
Ann N, 36
John N, 13
William N, 10
Mary Ann N, 3

Londonderry Engine Cottage 2 – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
William Littlefair, 30, Waggonman
Margery L, 30
Emmerson L, 7
Mary L, 4
William L, 2

Seaham – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Charles Browel or Browell, 50, Husbandman, N
Elizabeth B, 45
Ann B, 20
Elizabeth B, 10, N
Gilbert B, 5, N
Hannah B, 5
William B, 1

Seaham – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Peter Charlton, 20, Husbandman
Ann C, 20

Seaham – (Old) Seaham 1841 Census
Joseph Watson, 38, Gardener
Mary W, 40
Thomas W, 10
Mary Ann W, 7
Jeremiah W, 5
Jane W, 4

Seaton-with-Slingley
(No further details or addresses given)

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
John Lamb, 35, Farmer
Mary L, 35
John L, 5
Anna L, 9
Elizabeth L, 2
Mary L, 1
=============================
Sarah Garrick, 15,
Dom Serv

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
George Smith, 42, Agricultural Labourer
Mary S, 36
George S, 10
Frances S, 8
Mary S, 5
Thomas S, 2

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
William Lindsley, 42, Farmer
Mary L, 46
Jane L, 16
Deborah L, 14
Mary L, 11
Christopher L, 8
=============================
Christopher L, 57, Lab

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Andrew Lee, 89, Independent means
Elizabeth Shotton, 18
Andrew Shotton, 14
Joseph Briggs, 21, Lab
Elizabeth Smith, 12,
Dom Serv

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Bryan Hodgson, 29, Shoe Maker
Elizabeth H, 28
Ralph H, 8
Bryan H, 6
Mary H, 4
Charles H, 2
Richard H, 6 months
=============================
Elizabeth Paxton, 13, Dom Serv

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
William Proctor, 56, Independent means
Elizabeth P, 58

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Thomas Harrison, 40, Agricultural Labourer
Elizabeth H, 38
Ann H, 13
Robert H, 11
Elizabeth H, 8
Jane H, 6
Thomas H, 3
Isabella H, 1
=============================
John Robson, 78, Lab

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Robert Hodgson, 35, Farmer
Jane H, 30
Ralph H, 3
Robert H, 2
Jane H, 3 months
=============================
Henry Brunton, 30, Lab
Mary Atkinson, 15, Dom Serv
Jane Sutherland, 10, Dom Serv

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
George Richardson, 40, Lab
Thomas R, 13
Mary R, 9
John R, 7
=============================
Phoebe Colling, 32, Dom Serv
Cuthbert Colling, 1

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Edward Robson, 46, Farmer
Mary R, 33
=============================
Deborah Hodgson, 17, Dom Serv

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
William Southwaite, 39, Lab
Elizabeth S, 12
Anna S, 8
Elizabeth S, 66, Widow

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Mary Smith, 70, Widow
Thomas Smith, 35, Farmer
Mary S, 40
Francis S, 11
=============================
Thomas Wandless, 75, Lodger
James Brown, 50, Clerk, N
Marianne B, 45
Marianne B, 14
Agnes B, 13
Elizabeth B, 10
Jane B, 8
John B, 6
=============================
Elizabeth Donaldson, 22, Governess, N(S)
Margaret Brown, 25, Dom Serv
Richard Watson, 19, Servant
Thomas Stephenson,35, Manufacturer, N
William Harrison, 50, Farmer
Mary H, 50
Edward H, 9
Robert H, 7
=============================
John Barker, 27, Lab
Hannah B, 22
William B, 1 month
Thomas Brough, 55, Farmer
Elizabeth B, 48
John B, 20, Miller
Thomas B, 17, Farmer
=============================
Edward Robson, 17, Servant
William Brough, 82, Independent means
=============================
Elizabeth Willey, 20, Dom Serv

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Thomas Stratford, 45, Millwright
Ann S, 40
Mary S, 11
Margaret S, 8

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Robert Rowlands, 30, Lab
Judith R, 29
George R, 8
Mary R, 6
Isabella R, 2

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
George Pickering, 23, Lab
Frances P, 23
John P, 8 months

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Christopher Hedley, 25, Lab, N
Isabella H, 25
Robert H, 25
Mary H, 3
Harriet H, 2
=============================
Joseph Smith, 15, Engine-wright

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
George Willis, 32, Brakesman
Elizabeth W, 18
Elizabeth Richardson, 14, Dom Serv

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Ralph Wallas or Wallace, 30, Brakesman, N
Elizabeth W, 25, N
=============================
John Wilkinson, 30, Brakesman, N
John Lamb, 80, Farmer
Mary L, 70
=============================
Mary Wilson, 20, Dom Serv
John W, Serv
James W, 10
Margaret Watson, 15, Dom Serv

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
John Miller, 47, Farmer
Ann M, 50
Andrew M, 13
Edward Miller, 35, Lodger
Robert Morley, 23, Servant
William Brown, 15, Servant
Thomas Borrow, 11, Servant
Ann Lidster, 21, Dom Serv
John Pattison (Patterson), 38, Lab
Mary P, 38
Ann P, 11

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
John Richardson, 39, Lab
Harriet R, 48

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
James Thubron (?), 40, Farmer
Frances T, 40
James T, 18
Robert T, 16
Thomas T, 12
Shotton (?) T, 10
Henry T, 8
=============================
Ralph Hindsmith, 28, Lab
Mary H, 23
Isabella Burfield, 55, Widow
Henry B, 26, Shoe Maker
=============================
George Shaw, 35, Shoe Maker

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Christopher Etherington, 46, Agricultural Labourer
Ann E, 44
John E, 17
William E, 16
Isabella E, 12
Christopher E, 10
Ann E, 8
Elizabeth E, 4
James E, 2

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Robert Thompson, 43, Farmer
Mary T, 44
Richard T, 5
Robert T, 3
=============================
Richard Thompson, 47, Servant
Hodgson Atkinson, 30, Servant
Judith Harrison, 15, Servant

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Joshua Paxton, 30, Blacksmith
Mary P, 28
George Barker, 17, App

Seaton – Seaton-with-Slingley 1841 Census
Mary Hodgson, 80, Widow
Richard H, 30, Farmer
=============================
Mary Anderson, 17,
Dom Serv
Ralph Hodgson, 16, Servant
Sarah Smith, 20, Servant
William Palmer, 9

The Port of Seaham

HO 107 311/6 folios 3-6 & folio 9 – census of vessels in port

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Wansbeck’
James Fairbairn, 45, Master Mariner
Ann F, 40
John F, 10
Ann F, 8
James Arthur, 19, Apprentice, N(S)
Christopher Johnson, 18, Apprentice, N(S)
John Williamson, 15, Apprentice, N(S)
Bruce Huison, 16, Apprentice, N(S

NB: Tom MacNee refers to the “Wansbeck” in ‘Seaham -the first 100 years’ as being the first vessel to enter the new port of Seaham Harbour on May 10 1831 from Memel in the Baltic, with wood for building the staiths and two loading spouts. Clearly Seaham was her home port though this is not stated in the census.

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Leeds’
William Jackson, 28, Master
Elizabeth J, 30, N
William J, 3
Isaac J, 9 months
Phenas Kimble, 19, Apprentice, N
Robert Baker, 15, Apprentice, N
Henry Stewart, 18, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Emma’
Kirby Wilson, 25, Master, N
William Taylor, 25, Mate, N
William Blanchard, 25, Seaman, N
Samuel Laws, 22,
Seaman, N
William Lion, 18,
Apprentice, N
Daniel Bacon, 22, Apprentice, N
James Chapman, 18, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Adelaide’
John Pearson, 45, Mate, N(F)
Charles Tracey, 18, Seaman, N(F)
John Snowdon, 18, Apprentice, N
William Charlson, 17, Apprentice, N(S)
William Davison (or Davidson), 16, Apprentice, N(S)

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Elizabeth’
William Storey, 30, Mate, N(S)
Ralph Teasdale, 35, Seaman
Mary T, 30, N
William T, 2
George Plant, 18, Apprentice, N
Charles Catchpole, 18, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census -‘Forester’
Robert Christie, 45, Mate
Martha C, 40
Matthew C, 5
Lawrence Hutchinson, 19, Apprentice, N(S)
John Henry, 17, Apprentice, N(S)
William Coyle (or Cogle), 15, Apprentice, N(S)
James Cramins, 16, Apprentice

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Benjamin’
Robert Egget, 30, Mater, N
William Cookson, 45,
Mate, N
Thomas Thetford, 40, Seaman, N
Henry Seaman, 20, Seaman, N
Thomas Fisher, 23,
Seaman, N
William Carter, 14, Apprentice, N
John Rhodes, 15, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Blakeston’
Nicholas Copeland, 39, Mate
Thomas Howard, 55, Seaman
John Nicholson, 45, Seaman, N
John Douglas, 15, Apprentice, N
James Watts, 19, Apprentice, N
James Clarke , 20,
Apprentice, N
Frederick Birkenshaw, 14, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Anatolia’
John McAlley, 49, Master, N
Thomas Fairweather, 18, Apprentice, N
James Cook, 18,
Apprentice, N
William Bruce, 17, Apprentice, N(S)
James Sinclair, 15, Apprentice, N(S)

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Faulkner’
William Sawden, 19, Apprentice, N
Augustus Con, 19, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census -‘Squirrel’
Thomas Nesfield, 30, Master, N
Matthew Simpson, 24,
Mate, N
James Smith, 30,
Seaman, N
Frederick Doss, 30, Seaman, N
Thomas Grenan, 18, Apprentice, N
Henry Orfield, 17, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Queen Victoria’
John Grantham, 40,
Master, N
William Tate, 20, Mate, N
Isaac Wilson, 20,
Seaman, N
Philip Eyts, 17, Seaman, N
John Markley, 20, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Huzza’
John Wilson, 28, Master, N
Edward Andiss, 23, Mate, N
Robert Ashlling, 19, Apprentice, N
John Stalibrash, 17, Apprentice, N
Edward Lee, 15,
Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Fame’
William Hamilton, 20, Master, N
Edward Hamilton, 15,
Mate, N
James Chesterfield, 22, Seaman, N
Samuel Bowles, 20, Seaman, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census -‘Sisters’
Henry Chant, 17, Apprentice, N
James Dixon, 17, Apprent., N

Seaham Port 1841 Census -‘Dorothy’
John Gibson, 28, Carpenter,
Elizabeth G, 30, N
Robert Scott, 19,
Apprentice, N
William Hopkin, 18, Appr., N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Gosforth’
William Harvey, 40,
Master, N
Isabella H, 40, N
William H, 15, Apprentice, N
Ann H, 10, N
John H, 5, N
Charles Fox, 18, Apprent., N
John Robinson, 18, Apprentice, N(S)
Richard Beckett, 18, Apprentice, N
Edward Atkins, 17, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census -‘Highlander’
William Nattress, 25,
Master, N
Alexander Blackwood, 23, Mate, N
William Ross, 24, Seaman
Francis Follance, 30, Seaman
John Harris, 50, Seaman
John Martin, 21, Seaman, N
Isaac Camin, 17, Apprentice, N
James Dunoven, 15, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Jean & Mary’
Richard Hart, 35, Master, N
John Harrison, 35, Mate, N
Walter Banks, 45,
Seaman, N
James Sakery, 30,
Seaman, N
John Spearpoint, 20, Seaman, N
Henry Dunn, 15, Seaman, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Sarah’
Thomas Harrison, 20, Mate, N
Alexander Mitcheson, 45, Seaman
Thomas Thompson, 30, Seaman, N
William Broderick, 35, Seaman, N
James Johnson, 20, Seaman, N(S)
Henry Turner, 45,
Seaman, N
George Fletcher, 15, Apprentice, N
William Napps, 15, Apprentice, N
Frederick Long, 10, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Boldon’
James Hitchcock, 45, Master, N
William Watson, 20, Mate, N
Robert Groom, 20, Seaman, N
Thomas Lovell, 25, Seaman, N
Thomas Jackson, 20, Seaman, N
Francis Long, 20, Seaman, N
William Allen, 18, Apprentice, N
Henry Hitchcock, 15, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Lester’
William Stephenson, 45, Master
Catherine S, 30
Jeremiah Barram, 18, Apprentice, N
William Miller, 15, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Ryhope’
James Pattison (Patterson), 35, Master
James Wilson, 18, Apprentice
William Wobbs (?), 18, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Isabella’
John Gray, 55, Master, N
James Theaker, 20, Mate, N
William Colthorp, 20, Apprentice, N
Edward Watson, 18, Apprentice, N
Robert Pryman, 14, Apprentice, N
Henry Fawcet, 16, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Ligo’
Abraham Stephenson, 25, Master, N
Thomas Muggleton, 25, Mate, N
Mark Weeks, 18,
Apprentice, N
Benjamin Smith, 17, Apprentice, N
John Colthorp, 17, Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Friends’
David Minns, 15, Seaman, N
James Bulmer, 25,
Seaman, N
William Henderson, 10, Apprentice, N
Edward Fry, 15,
Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘William’
Matthew Cooper, 40,
Master, N
William Blakey, 45, Mate, N
William Rogers, 50, Seaman, N
George Waugh, 25, Seaman, N
James Coleman, 15, Apprentice, N
John Lovell, 15,
Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Thyatira’
Daniel Leader, 25, Mate, N
William Foster (or Forster), 30,
Seaman, N
Edward Hall, 25, Seaman, N
James Burton, 15, Apprentice, N
John Smith, 15,
Apprentice, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Hopewell Wells’
John Huitson or Hewitson, 43, Master Mariner, N
Henry Crafers, 23, Mate, N
Samuel Coe, 18, Mariner, N
John Hesleton, 17,
Mariner, N
William Huitson, 15,
Mariner, N
Mary Huitson, 38, Passenger, N
Mary Huitson, 12, Passenger, N
Matilda Hudson, 3 months, Passenger, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census -‘Econimus’
Thomas Hickson, 44, Master Mariner, N
John Watson, 53, Mate, N
Charles Cotton, 26,
Mariner, N
James Naylor, 19, Mariner, N
Henry York, 17, Mariner, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Isabella Lawrence’ (from Invernyl, Scotland ?)
James Cant, 27, Master Mariner, N(S)
Alexander Main, 30, Mate, N(S)
Charles Garrow, 21, Mariner, N(S)
John Patterson, 20, Mariner, N(S)
William McGreggor, 15, Mariner, N(S)
Alexander Cambel or Campbell, 13, Mariner, N(S)

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Heugh Johnson’ (London)
John Potts, 32, Master Mariner
John Gardner, 50, Mate
James Day, 42, Mariner, N
Robert Sacker, 18, Mariner, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Emerald’ (Sunderland)
William Blacker, 35, Master Mariner, N
Pearson Renold, 31, Mate, N
Robert Wilson, 57, Mariner
William Walker, 58, Mariner, N
James Reay, 46, Mariner, N
George Clarke , 16, Mariner, N

Seaham Port 1841 Census – ‘Flora’ (Margate)
James Brereton, 30, Master Mariner, N
William Purdy, 40, Mate, N
William Stephenson, 26, Mariner, N
Charles Tumling, 20, Mariner, N
James Rowe, 15, Mariner, N

Seaham Lifeboat Disaster of November 11, 1962

On 17 Nov 1962, the lifeboat ‘George Elmy’ went out to rescue the coble ‘Economy’. Nine men died in the rescue attempt.

Lifeboat Crew of the ‘George Elmy’
John T. Miller (Coxswain)
Fred Gippert (Second Coxswain)
Arthur Brown
Leonard Brown
James Farrington

Crew of the coble ‘Economy’
David Burrell (aged 9)
Gordon Burrell
George Firth
Joseph Kennedy

Sole Survivor of the coble ‘Economy’
Donald Burrell (later moved to Nottingham, died there in early 1990s, his ashes were scattered in the North Sea off Seaham).

The East Durham Heritage Group has a far more detailed article on the disaster.

The Peopling of Easington District

The Peopling of Easington District

by Tony Whitehead

Few modern-day Northeasterners can truthfully claim that their roots in the region go much deeper than the 19th. century. Most of us are descendants of newcomers who arrived from elsewhere in the British Isles at some point in the Victorian era. In 1801 the Northeast of England was almost empty in comparison to today. County Durham for instance had just 150,000 people and there is no reason to suppose its population had ever been much bigger. By 1901 the population of County Durham had increased more than twelve-fold to 1.88 million due to the increasing demand for coal for home and industry and the resultant expansion of the known coalfield into East Durham where there had never been coalmines before. The same story of expansion of coalfields and population was repeated in Northumberland and Cumberland. Where did all these newcomers, my ancestors and probably yours, arrive from? Which areas of Great Britain contributed most to the Northeastern melting-pot? The story I describe below was repeated across Northumberland and Durham in the 19th. century and applies equally to people from Ashington and Bishop Auckland as to those whose roots lie in Easington District.

In 1801 the total population of County Durham was just 150,000. Over a third of these people lived in the ancient towns of Hartlepool (1,047), Barnard Castle (2,966), Stockton (4,009), Darlington (4,670), Durham (about 7,500), Gateshead (8,597), South Shields (with Westoe about 11,000) and Sunderland (about 18,000). Even that great metropolis of the far North, Newcastle, just across the Tyne in Northumberland, had only 30,000 inhabitants at the beginning of the 19th. century, little more than Greater Seaham has today. The rest of the county of Durham, not just the high ground as now, was as empty as some parts of western Ireland are today. The tiny farming communities which together made up what we now call Easington District had just 2,310 souls in the year 1801, about the same as modern-day Wingate. By 1901 Easington District had some 50,000 inhabitants, an incredible 21-fold increase. The reason was the discovery of coal – deep and therefore expensive to get at (which meant super-pits and huge colliery villages) but in seams up to seven feet thick !

The eastern half of the Durham coalfield, upon which Easington District is situated, is concealed by many hundreds of feet of Permian magnesian limestone, the Durham Plateau. The powerful steam engines required to drain deep mines did not exist until the early 1820s. As the third decade of the nineteenth century dawned technological advances had been made which made it possible at last to investigate just what lay under the rolling limestone hills of East Durham. At Rainton, four miles west of Seaham, coal is just below the ground. A few hundred yards away to the east at Hetton, at the start of the limestone escarpment of the Durham Plateau, the coal is several hundred feet below the surface. It was there on December 19, 1820 that the new machinery was put to the test.

coalfield-nbl-durNorthumberland & Durham coalfield

This map is by no means definitive for there were many outcrops outside the marked coalfield such as the area to the north of Haltwhistle in Northumberland and the moorland to the south of Barnard Castle. At Tan Hill (now just inside County Durham but well inside North Yorkshire pre-1974), site of the highest pub in Great Britain and probably the most unhospitable place to live in England, there was a drift mine and a small mining community for decades. Even today there are places in western Durham where people can literally dig up coal in their back gardens. It is not very good quality and nobody will buy it but it will burn.

Deep mining was an entirely new, dangerous and expensive business, far beyond the financial means of most coal owners, and necessitated the creation of a large company for the purpose, the Hetton Colliery Company. Whilst digging proceeded the famous engineer and pioneer of steam engines, George Stephenson, began construction of a railway from the pithead at Hetton to Sunderland in March 1821. The new line, the first in the world to be designed to use locomotives, was some eight miles in length and ran to the Hetton Company’s own staiths on the river Wear, where coal could be loaded directly on to large vessels, thus missing out a number of middlemen at Penshaw and on the river. The excellent publicity received launched the Stephensons on to even greater things, as the world knows. More importantly for the history of County Durham in general and Easington District in particular, coal was found at the Hetton Lyons Blossom Pit sinking, at 650 and 900 feet, in seams six and a half feet thick! By 1832 Hetton Lyons and its two sister pits Eppleton and Elemore were annually producing 318,000 tons of coal worth £174,000, and the combine was the largest mine in England. Hetton Colliery and its railway proved that 900 feet of limestone, water and quicksand and a large hill (Warden Law) blocking the way to Sunderland were not insurmountable obstacles to the exploitation of the rich reserves of coal and that achievement did not go unnoticed. Before long others, such as Lord Londonderry, Lord Lambton (1st. Earl of Durham), Lord Howden and Colonel Thomas Braddyll of Haswell, would enter the arena and the tapping of the deeply concealed Durham coalfield began in earnest. Their target was the tranquil idyll of Easington District.

The first two collieries in Easington District were at South Hetton and Haswell. Once these had begun production (1833 & 1835 respectively) and proved they were viable the stampede into East Durham was on. By 1841 Thornley and Wingate collieries were also in production and four other pits were being sunk (Murton, Shotton, Castle Eden and South Wingate). By the time of the 1851 census Seaton and Seaham collieries (later amalgamated as ‘Seaham’ in 1864) were being prepared. All of the then existing 8 collieries in Easington were on the western edge of the district for the technology did not yet exist to contemplate even deeper mines on the coast.

No new collieries were sunk in the decade 1851-61. In fact the district experienced its first pit closure with the collapse of South Wingate Colliery in 1857. In 1869 the sinking of Wheatley Hill commenced and this was followed a year later by two other new ventures at nearby Deaf Hill and Hutton Henry. Wheatley Hill was severely handicapped by under-capitalisation and went bankrupt at least twice before the turn of the century but eventually proved itself. Shotton Colliery closed in 1877 and became a ghost village for the next 23 years until it was reopened by the new Horden Coal Company in 1900. Castle Eden Colliery folded in 1893, Haswell in 1896 and Hutton Henry in 1897. The early 20th. century saw the opening of the coastal super-pits at Dawdon, Easington, Horden, Blackhall and Vane Tempest and the creation of new mining communities in East Durham.

All of the deep coalmines of East Durham have now closed and their sites have been cleared but behind them they have left tens of thousands of people, grandchildren and great grandchildren of the newcomers who arrived to populate Easington District long ago, left high and dry, often without jobs or hope. Coal alone sustained the population for 150 years but the coalmines have gone now and one has to wonder what will become of Easington District in the decades to come.

This short series of essays investigates those parts of the British Isles which sent significant contingents to people Easington District a century and more ago and whose descendants inhabit the area today. The primary feeders for the Klondike of East Durham were the other, older coalfields of Great Britain. We should remind ourselves of where these were. The map below (1967) omits certain small and ancient coalfields such as South Shropshire, Somerset and Forest of Dean in Gloucestershire which were already abandoned or insignificant nationally. The tiny Kent coalfield was not developed until the 20th. century so few Northeasterners can trace their roots to Aylesham, Womenswold and Betteshanger though the reverse is far from true.

coalfields-britishBritish Coalfields

The Cumbrian Coalfield

One of the most important contributing coalfields was also the nearest – the Cumbrian coalfield, tiny in comparison to the Northumberland and Durham coalfield, which ran from south of St. Bees Head up the coast to beyond Maryport (about 22 miles) and inland for only four or five miles, a total size of some 100 square miles and whose epicentres were the towns and ports of Whitehaven, Workington and Maryport. The Cumbrian coalfield existed initially to service the Emerald Isle, just across the Irish Sea, which had no fossil fuel of its own other than peat. Later Cumbrian coal was used in the production of steel at Workington. The Irish connection was particularly powerful in Whitehaven and Victorian census returns show the port to have been full of them, many using the town as a jumping off point for other places in Great Britain. A primary target was the Durham coalfield, where there were hundreds of mines compared to the few dozen in Cumberland and a complete absence of any work in their native land. The Irish infiltrated every part of the Northeast, especially after the Famine 1847-51. Many colliery villages became noticably Irish. A good example of this was Usworth Colliery which received hundreds of Irish families in the second half of the nineteenth century, most via Whitehaven. Usworth colliery was wrecked by an explosion in March 1885 and was out of action for couple of years. It seems that most of the village, by then predominantly Whitehaven Irish, simply got on Shank’s Pony and moved en masse six miles southeast to Seaham Colliery. This pit village, by then scheduled for demolition, was replaced by a council estate at Parkside in 1939 and so the population of Seaham Colliery moved, almost in entirety, to there. So today a clear line can be traced from Ireland to Whitehaven to Usworth to Seaham Colliery to Parkside and is the explanation for the extraordinarily high percentage of Catholics in Seaham today.

The Cumbrian coalfield extended right into the town of Whitehaven itself where some of the coal was worked from under the Irish Sea, decades before the same thing could be tried on the North Sea coast where the black gold was much deeper. Colliery villages included such places as Egremont, Cleator, Cleator Moor, Moresby, Parton, Camerton, Broughton, Flimby, Dearham and Cockermouth. Many modern-day Northeasterners have some or all of these places mentioned in their family trees.

coalfield-cumberlandCumbrian coalfield

The Scottish Coalfields: Ayrshire, Lanarkshire, Fifeshire and Midlothian

The Scottish coalfields, scattered across four counties, made only a modest contribution to the peopling of Easington District though many Irish landed there in their escape from the Famine and eventually made their way down to East Durham.

Lancashire Coalfield

Originally the Lancashire coalfield exploited outcrops in the foothills of the Pennines but these reserves were soon exhausted and mining advanced westwards to the Lancashire Lowlands where many deep collieries were sunk. The epicentre of this new coalfield was the countryside around and between the towns of Wigan and St. Helens – such villages as Standish, Ince, Hindley, Holland, Ashton-in-Makerfield and Billinge. In the Lancashire coalbelt Rugby League was and still is king and football comes a poor runner-up. This helps further differentiate the coalfield from surrounding places like Preston, Liverpool and Manchester. George Orwell described the appalling poverty of the Lancashire coalminers in the 1930s in The Road to Wigan Pier. Lancashire made a significant contribution to Easington District.

North Wales Coalfield

Divided into two distinct parts with a small gap between. The first ran along the northernmost coast of Wales, that part opposite to the Wirral, which was entirely in the county of Flintshire. This included such mining communities as Mostyn, Greenfield, Holywell, Bagillt, Flint, Mold and Buckley. The second, not very far away, was in Denbighshire and had the town of Wrexham as its epicentre. Just to the north of Wrexham is the village of Gresford, site of a major mining disaster which inspired a hymn for brass bands. Everafter the playing of ‘Gresford’ was always the most solemn and eye-moistening moment at the Miners’ Galas in Durham and elsewhere. North Wales was a major contributor to Easington District and there can be few modern-day Easingtonians who are not descended from this connection.

South Shropshire Coalfield

Bypassed by the M6 and squeezed between Staffordshire and Wales, Shropshire is arguably England’s prettiest county and its least known. It was also the site of one of the country’s smallest and most unusual coalfields. On the North Sea Coast mining took place some 2,000 feet below the sea. In the Clee Hills of South Shropshire it took place at 900 feet above sea level. You would never guess now driving through this stunning countryside that such villages as Clee St. Margaret and Burwarton were once mining communities which exported their surplus population to Easington District and other places in Northeast England. Shropshire coal helped fuel the Industrial Revolution at Coalbrookdale but could not meet the rising demand and the coalfield became uneconomic due to the greater efficiency of much larger mines opened up in other new coalfields.

North Staffs Coalfield

In two parts, the larger being centred around Stoke-on-Trent and Newcastle-under-Lyme and the smaller being centred on the town of Cheadle in the Pennine foothills. Such villages as Silverdale, Talke, Golden Hill, Mow Cop, Leycett, Finney Green, Madeley and Trentham all contributed to the Easington District melting pot. To see how Staffordshire mineowners lived go to Keele University, which is just off the M6 and near to Newcastle-under-Lyme and which welcomes visitors. This postwar educational establishment has been superimposed on a mediaeval enclosed manorial estate whose epicentre is Keele Hall. The estate, Keele village and much of the surrounding countryside was owned by the Sneyd family who also had the mineral rights for much of the coalfield. The collieries were not visible from the Hall, being hidden away in nearby valleys like Silverdale so as not to disturb the sensitivities of the Sneyds and their guests. Gaze in wonder at the huge and ornate marble fireplace at Keele Hall and imagine how many colliers gave their lives to provide it.

coalfields-staff-warMap of Staffordshire and Warwickshire Coalfields

South Staffs Coalfield

Also known as Cannock Chase Coalfield, this was the main energy source for the Industrial Revolution which shaped the modern world and was to give the Black Country its nickname. Ironbridge and Coalbrookdale were supplied in the 18th. century from here where shallow mining had already been practised for centuries. Today the Chase is pockmarked with abandoned mine workings and occasionally a person or a pet falls down an old air vent and needs to be rescued. Contributing communities to Easington District included Hednesford, Willenhall, Bloxwich, Bilston, Darlaston and Wednesbury.

Warwickshire Coalfield

Centred on the area to the west and northwest of the towns of Coventry and Nuneaton. Negligible contribution to the burgeoning population of Easington District in the 19th. century.

Leicestershire Coalfield

Situated in the far west of the county where Leicestershire meets Staffordshire and Derbyshire. Communites included Ashby-de-la-Zouch and COALville. Few colliers from this coalfield migrated to Easington District. In the 20 th. century a new coalfield was opened in the northeast of the county in the Vale of Beauvoir (pronounced Beaver), bordering on Nottinghamshire. It seems likely that this will be the site of the last deep coal mining in Great Britain when it has ceased everywhere else.

Yorks, Derbys & Notts Coalfield

The largest of Britain’s former coalfields, it stretched from the Leeds area to south Notts where that county borders with Leicestershire. Mining began in the foothills of the Pennines in places like Silkstone Common and Thurgoland in south Yorkshire. Later the coalfield moved east taking in places like Barnsley and Mexborough. From Woolworths in Barnsley town centre several collieries and pit heaps were visible until after the Miners’ Strike of 1984-85. They are all gone now. Late in the 20th. century a new coalfield was discovered at Selby in Yorkshire but at the time of writing (July 2002) it has just been announced that even this will close shortly. The Yorks, Notts and Derbys coalfield was among the major contributors to the peopling of East Durham in the 19th. century. As in Lancashire many of the Yorkshire coalfield towns, like Castleford, Featherstone and Wakefield are distinguished from surrounding cities like Sheffield and Huddersfield because of their passion for Rugby League rather than football. It is certainly strange that the 13-man game never made it in the Northeast.

Forest of Dean Coalfield

Small scale mining still goes on in this ancient coalfield that was exploited by the Romans among others. The past is remembered in the names of communities like CINDERford and COLEford. A few souls from this coalfield found their way to Easington District but most were deflected to nearby South Wales.

Bristol Coalfield

Apart from those with serious subsidence problems, most Bristolians have largely forgotten that their city sits upon a small but ancient coalfield. The older (and very hilly) part of Bristol is in fact riddled with underground workings and tunnels from drift mines of long ago. This coalfield was working until well into the 20th. century. Few Bristolian colliers made their way to the Northeast for the South Wales coalfield was booming and not far away.

North Somerset Coalfield

Included such places as Midsomer Norton, Radstock, Kilmersdon, Writhington, Paulton, Camerton and Timsbury. Bath is just a few miles away. Dying by the middle of the 19th. century many of the coalfield’s colliers made their way north to County Durham and Easington District in particular.

The South Wales Coalfield

The eastern part of this coalfield is deeply trenched by river valleys with floors accomodating such mining communities as Rhonnda, Mountain Ash and Pontypool. In between are uplands, 1,000 to 2,000 feet high, bleak and uninhabited. Coal came to the surface in the valleys and was collected from the river beds and later from the valley sides. The western part of the coalfield is less elevated, and its valley floors more open. Welsh ‘steam’coal was in high demand for its quality and thus the coalfield boomed after the invention of the railways. As there was usually enough work for everyone there was no need to migrate to distant places like County Durham. There was a small and regular exchange of populations between the Northeast and South Wales but this was insignificant compared to the migration fron the North Wales coalfield to places like Easington District.

The Peopling of Easington District, Part 2
Cornwall & Devon

It has been said that a mine is a hole in the ground with a Cornishman at the bottom. Traces of mining work may be found in almost every parish in the county and Cornish skills are a byword in mining camps the world over. The world famous School of Mining is situated at Camborne. Mining has been practised in both Devon and Cornwall for perhaps as long as four thousand years. The early workings were for tin, washed from the gravels in the beds of streams or dug from the shallow deposits which could be worked as open pits. Underground mining began in the 16th. century and as the workings went deeper other valuable metallic minerals were found – usually copper but also arsenic, lead, zinc, wolfram, silver, nickel, cobalt, bismuth, ochre, sulphur, barytes and fluorspar.

The booms and slumps in metal prices, which reflected the difference between supply and demand, were an unavoidable risk and from time to time nearly brought mining in the southwest peninsula to a halt. The most serious challenge to date came in the 1860s when it was discovered that the mud of the alluvial plains of Malayan rivers contained a remarkably high level of tin. This did not need to be mined – just scooped up. At much the same time large copper deposits were located in both North and South America. The price of both metals tumbled and many Cornish and Devonian mines were forced to amalgamate or close. Their workforces made their way, 3rd. class on Britain’s embryonic railway system, to coalfields far and near. A major target was County Durham. In Easington District three distinct clusters of Southwesterners can be identified in the census returns of the late 19th. century.

The first arrivals were at Wingate Grange Colliery in the south of Easington District in the late 1860s. Local legend has it that their ancestors all arrived on the same day in open-topped trucks, soaked to the skin, freezing-cold and hungry after a three day non-stop journey from one end of England to the other. A little later another contingent arrived at Murton Colliery, but this proved to be merely a scouting party for a far greater influx. Eventually an entire district at Murton became known as ‘Cornwall’. Just about everybody at modern-day Murton includes some of these migrants in their family trees. The third site in Easington District which absorbed southwesterners was Seaham Colliery where a row of colliery houses was named Cornish Street. In Seaham too you will find many people who have a connection with the southwest peninsula – with surnames like Beer, Pascoe, Jane, Trewitt, Tremayne and Hocking.

The disastrous trade slump of the early 1890s led to the closure of all but a handful of mines in Cornwall and Devon and triggered further movement to the Northeast, often to those places which already had a large contingent of their relatives. In the 20th. century Cornish mining kept declining but certain of the mines somehow manged to survive almost until the present day. One or two are now maintained as museums.

The Peopling of Easington District, Part 3: Ireland

Let’s look at the massive invasion from the Emerald Isle which took place in the middle of the 19th century.

The death from ovarian cancer in November 1558 of Mary I (Bloody Mary) and the accession of her Protestant half-sister Elizabeth I sounded the death knell also for Roman Catholicism in England. The new queen had to be crowned by the senior surviving Protestant prelate, the Bishop of Carlisle, for all of his superiors had been burned at the stake. In Catholic eyes Elizabeth was an illegitimate usurper and the rightful claimant was her Catholic cousin Mary, Queen of Scots. Persecution of Catholics became official policy and the bulk of the population, wanting only a quiet life, sensibly shifted their allegiance from Rome to London. Elizabeth crushed the Catholic Rising of the North, eventually executed her Scottish cousin and defeated the Spanish Armada sent to avenge Mary. By the time of Elizabeth’s death Catholics had become a feared and despised minority whose loyalties were believed to lie outside the kingdom. English Catholicism retreated to Norfolk where alone they still constituted a majority and that county is still the spiritual home of the creed in the kingdom today. The leading English Catholic today is the Duke of Norfolk, surname Fitzalan-Howard, a distant kinsman of Elizabeth.

Scotland too became predominantly Protestant and Catholicism survived only among certain clans of the Highlands and islands. In primitive Ireland however it seemed nothing would change the allegiance of the inhabitants. Elizabeth and her successor James I (& VI of Scotland) thought differently and authorised land grants in Ulster to Protestant settlers from both England and Scotland. An alien ruling minority was imposed on the Irish and all of the British Isles still suffer today from the results. In 1798, taking advantage of Britain’s war with Revolutionary France, the Irish rose in revolt but they were soon crushed and their leaders executed or driven into exile.

The resultant Act of Union with Ireland in 1800 joined that troubled island to the existing United Kingdom and made Parliament at Westminster supreme over 4 million Irish Roman Catholics. Emancipation, that is the concession of political rights to them and their few co-religionists in Great Britain, became a serious issue. In 1815 the law excluded Protestant Dissenters to a great extent and Roman Catholics almost entirely from public office. King George III and his successor George IV personally vetoed any attempt to resolve the matter. In January 1828 the Duke of Wellington became Prime Minister. He soon became convinced that Catholic Emancipation was the only thing which could prevent civil war in Ireland. In March of that year he repealed the 17th. Century Test and Corporation Acts which, in theory at least, had debarred Dissenters from public office. In April 1829 he also carried Catholic Emancipation by talking over King George IV. A Catholic still had to swear an elaborate oath before taking office and could not aspire to be Regent, Lord Chancellor, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland or High Comissioner to the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland (heaven forbid!) but otherwise he was now on an equal legal footing with Anglicans for the first time since the Armada. Religious toleration was still far from complete: only Anglican priests and, strangely enough, Quakers and Jews, could perform marriages valid in law. There was as yet no secular or civil marriage. This was introduced at the same time as the registration of births, marriages and deaths began in England & Wales – on July 1 1837, 10 days after the accession of the 18 year old Queen Victoria. Catholics (and women) still could not go to University and would not be able to for half a century more.

In mediaeval times Ireland’s population was probably a fairly constant figure of about 1 million, all that the country could sustain from the few crops it produced. Then a new plant was introduced from the New World which thrived in Erin’s cold and wet climate – the potato – and which required little care or attention other then good drainage. This new crop was however highly susceptible to disease and there were many examples of failure over the next two centuries. These blights were usually localised and of short duration. There had never been a complete failure which extended over several years but this disaster finally occurred in the second half of the 1840s. By the time of the 1841 census Ireland had 8 million people, twice the modern level and equal to over half the population of England & Wales at that date. A million died of starvation and associated disease between 1845 and 1849, the last peacetime famine in Western Europe. Roughly the same number emigrated to Britain and her colonies and to the United States. In 1851 Ireland had 6.5 million people. In 1861 she had 5.8 million. Today all of the island of Ireland has less than 5 million people. However there are at least 17 million Americans and four or five million Canadians and Australians who claim Irish descent.

According to the census of 1851 the population of the island of Great Britain was 21 million, a figure which included some 734,000 Irishmen and approximately 1.5 million of their womenfolk and children, about half of whom had arrived in the previous decade. If the same figures are extrapolated to today Great Britain with 60 million people would have to absorb over 6 million economic refugees from Ireland, more people than the island actually possesses. We complain bitterly enough today about the numbers of illegal immigrants trying to reach our shores but have apparently forgotten that once we had to cope with far, far more, my own ancestors among them and possibly yours too. In 1850 Pope Benedict XIV thought it opportune at last to establish a normal hierarchy of bishops in England, hitherto treated as a schismatic country requiring special arrangements. In the Northeast of England the see of Hexham & Newcastle was created as a result.

The influx affected every part of Great Britain and especially the Northeast of England which was near to the ports of Cumberland which received Irish traffic. As now the newcomers were far from popular – they were perceived as a threat to their livelihoods by the English working classes for they would work for little more than a roof over their heads and some food in their bellies. There were anti-Irish riots in Salford, London and a number of other places but no serious disturbances were reported from County Durham. The Irish infiltrated every corner of the county and can be detected in massive numbers in the 1861 census at Newcastle, Sunderland, South Shields, Hartlepool and Seaham Harbour – they, being poverty-stricken, always ended up in the poorest quarters, and at Seaham for instance they took over the back alleys and tenements and ghettoized themselves in what became known as ‘Irish Back Street’. Though there were no anti-Irish riots at Seaham there were many affrays it seems and especially on Friday and Saturday nights. Gangs of young English miners from Seaham Colliery walked the mile or so to the port of Seaham Harbour every weekend in the expectation of several beers and then a punch-up with the Irish. The Sons (and Daughters) of Erin, hot-blooded and keen to settle accounts with the English, any English, usually obliged. There were similar scenes at many of the other colliery villages of Easington District – at Wingate for instance the English and Irish gangs had their own drinking holes and it was not until the late evening that the different beers met up in the centre of the village to settle their differences and the violence began. The extraordinarily high proprtion of Catholics in modern-day Seaham Harbour can be dated back to this period. Every Sunday at the main Catholic church in Seaham, St. Mary Magdalene’s, it is standing room only for all of the masses – almost all of the congregation are fourth or fifth generation descendants of Irish immigrants from those troubled times long ago.

Sunderland too, just four miles up the coast from Seaham, received a huge number of Irish, attracted by the shipbuilding and glassblowing trades and any other work that was going. All that some of the newcomers, the young single women, had to offer was their bodies and the origin of the port’s huge red-light district, almost exclusively populated by the sisters of sweet Molly Malone, lies in this period. In the mid-19th. century Sunderland’s brothels were the international equivalent of modern-day Patpong in Thailand. The vice trade was an important part of the town’s economy, dependent as it already was on the thousands of international seamen who passed through.

The Peopling of Easington District, Part 4

In this chapter, we look at the influx of agricultural labourers from many rural districts of the kingdom but especially East Anglia which took place in the late 19th. century.

The most spectacular example of this in the Northeast that I have so far uncovered lies outside Easington District – look at the census returns from 1861 onwards for all of the colliery villages of Chester-le-Street District and start counting the number of households which originated in the flat Suffolk countryside which surrounds the town of Mildenhall. The soil in this part of England is sandy and poor in nutrients and little could grow here until the introduction of artificial fertilisers in the late 19th. century. So poor is the soil in places that only lichen can grow, hence the name of the neighbouring township of Lakenheath (Lichen-Heath). Chester-le-Street district censuses 1861-91 inclusive mention literally hundreds of households who came north from such villages as Barton Mills, Icklingham, Back Row, Tuddenham and Lackford and brought their ancient Suffolk-specific surnames like Dorling and Garnham with them. The census returns for Mildenhall District in the same period show a consequent decline in population and most of these absentees can be found in County Durham. It is clear that thousands of modern-day residents of Chester-le-Street must descend from this influx, though many of them will be unaware of it for they have yet to dicover the hobby of genealogy and the memory of the connection has faded from their family legends. Ironically Mildenhall is now a very prosperous district, sustained and nourished by the two giant American air bases at Mildenhall and Lakenheath and by improvements in agricultural techniques. The surnames Dorling and Garnham are still present in some numbers in the local telephone books just as they are in Chester-le-Street.

In 1801, with the Industrial Revolution barely begun, England & Wales were predominantly rural countries and there were few large towns outside London, Norwich and Bristol. Over the course of the next century however Britain became an overwhelmingly urban land with many large industrial towns. There was a massive movement from the land to the cities in search of the work created by the new factories, accelerated at times by the periodic and cyclical depressions which afflicted agriculture and by the overtures of head-hunting agents of industrialists who could offer higher wages in the mines of County Durham or the factories of Birmingham.

Easington District too received its share of East Anglians though from all parts of the counties of Norfolk and Suffolk and Cambridgeshire and not just specific small areas. Many of them came from coastal villages such as Cley and Sea Palling which already had trade connections with ports in County Durham. Collier vessels brought coal and limestone from such places as Seaham Harbour and went back with agricultural produce, peat and emigrants looking for work in the hundreds of coalmines which then existed in Durham. Agricultural labourers earned poor wages, lived isolated lives and worked very long hours. They usually lived in tied cottages which had to be surrendered when they changed employment. There were bonuses at harvest time but many were obliged to supplement their income with poaching and other activities which could bring instant dismissal and eviction. In County Durham wages were higher and more consistent, there was a free house and free coal for the fire. After 1869 there was also a powerful union, the DMA, to protect the miners, something non-existent in the countryside where individual labourers were at the mercy of ruthless landowners. Many Durham mining villages also had free schools supplied by the mineowners and these gave the children of the East Anglians educational opportunities which did not exist in the counties they had left.

Wingate Grange, Deaf Hill & Wheatley Hill

Wingate Grange, Deaf Hill & Wheatley Hill

Wingate Grange

Until it got its own Anglican church in 1841,Wingate Grange was part of Kelloe parish.

Available Parish Registers at Durham Record Office
Kelloe, Parish Registers 1693-1991
Holy Trinity, Wingate Grange, Baptisms 1841-70
Holy Trinity, Wingate Grange, Marriages 1842-1989
Holy Trinity, Wingate Grange, Burials 1841-1971
Wingate Methodists, Baptisms 1932-70
Wingate Primitive & Wesleyan Methodists, Baptisms 1896-1938
Wingate Wesleyan Methodists, Baptisms 1873-1896
Wingate Front Street Methodists, Marriages 1906-60
Wingate Sinkers Row Methodists, Baptisms 1920-39
Wingate Methodists, Baptisms 1909-40 (formerly East Durham Wesleyan
Circuit)

Population changes in the 19th. Century were:

 Year 1801 1811 1821 1831 1841 1851 1861 1871 1881 1891 1901
Wingate 135 151 131 115 2625 2456 2143 3104 5949 4463 8005

The above figures refer to Old Wingate and farms, Wingate Grange Colliery (c.1837-1962), Deaf Hill Colliery (c. 1870-1967) and Wheatley Hill Colliery (c.1869-77, 1878-84, 1890-1968). The above census records for 1841-1901 are transcribed and available on this site.

Wingate Grange Colliery was sunk by Lord Howden and partners in 1837. It had two shfts or pits called the Lord & Lady. Production is believed to have begun in c. 1840. In 1843, the owners of the colliery decided on having wire ropes for hauling the cages to bank. To this, the men, ignorant and prejudiced, objected. A long strike ensued and the miners were eventually driven back to work.

The mining village of Wingate Grange evolved into a long and narrow settlement, over a mile in length, with little depth of development behind the main street and without an obvious centre. Shops and social facilities for the new community were developed at the southern end, near to what would become Station Town. The colliery was at the northern end.

In the 1841 census the enumerator noted the presence of Sinkers Row, Seymour Street, Pickering Street, Johnston Street and Todd Street. These streets, the nucleus of the village, were ever-present in the 19th. Century. The enumerator also mentioned “Horsington Terrace”and “Mount Pleasant” which were not mentioned in later censuses and are not on the map of 1897. These must have changed their names at some point over the next 20 years. He also mentioned Cargill”s (or Caygill”s) Court which was mentioned again only in 1861. In 1841 Deaf Hill was just a farm with a single household. Wheatley Hill was also a farm, with four households.

In 1851 the enumerator first mentioned the community of “Trimdon Foundry””. The origins of this structure and its precise location are a mystery to me but by 1851 it had clearly been turned into homes for coalmining families. Thirty houses there were uninhabited and the enumerator explained that Wingate Grange pit was temporarily laid up due to a change in ownership. The enumerator covered the colliery village proper but with the solitary exception of “Wood Houses” he described everything as simply “Wingate Colliery”. Wheatley Hill & Deaf Hill were still just farms.

In 1861 the enumerator mentioned “The Sheds” (or Shades), Humble Lane, Chapel Chare, Parkins Place (later called Brewery Square), Mill Row, Davisons Row (5 households), Front Street and Back Street (1 household) for the first time. Wheatley Hill & Deaf Hill were still farms.

In 1871 the enumerator lumped everything in the village together as either “Seymour Street” or “Todd Street”. The satellite community “Trimdon Foundry” had 83 households but there were 13 dwellings uninhabited. Wheatley Hill Colliery first appeared, with 144 households in this census. Deaf Hill Colliery (allegedly opened in 1869) had not appeared yet and there was no sign of coalminers in that vicinity. A later opening date than 1871 seems probable.

In 1881 the enumerator first mentioned Brewery Square (formerly Perkins Place), New Row, the Barracks (formerly Trimdon Foundry “) and Church Street. Deaf Hill Colliery made its first appearance in this census. The 1891 census saw the appearance of Plantation Row and Overmans Row. This virtually completed the community.

Wingate’s moment of truth came in 1906 when an explosion killed 26 men and 86 ponies. The colliery closed in 1962. Its huge slag heap was removed and many colliery streets cleared. Since then the community has lost many people to Peterlee and other colliery villages in County Durham and elsewhere. The population in 1991 was down to about 3,000. The nearest colliery now is over a hundred miles away.

Wheatley Hill

Wheatley Hill did not have its own Anglican church until 1912, so before then look in the parish registers for Kelloe and Wingate.

Available Parish Registers at Durham Record Office
…Kelloe and Wingate Grange parish registers listed above, plus…
All Saints, Wheatley Hill, Baptisms 1912-50
All Saints, Wheatley Hill, Marriages 1915-95
All Saints, Wheatley Hill, Burials, None
Wheatley Hill Methodists, Marriages 1923-64
Wheatley Hill Church Street Methodists, Baptisms 1874-1903
Wheatley Hill Patten Street Primitive Methodist, Baptisms 1920-23
Wheatley Hill Pyman Street Primitive Methodist, Marriages 1916-92

The sinking of Wheatley Hill Colliery by the seriously under-capitalised Hartlepool Coal Company began in 1869. All of the available cash seems to have spent on finishing the pit and building the housing stock for the workforce. Not long after the colliery began production a severe depression began and the demand for coal fell away. The owners had no reserves of cash to see them through this crisis. On May 18 1874, following the announcement of a 10% drop in wages and longer hours, the colliers came out on strike. Police and “candymen” evicted several mining families from Grainger and other streets. The DMA refused to back its Wheatley Hill Lodge and the dispute eventually petered out. The economic situation improved but the respite was brief. On February 9 1877, without notice, the workforce were informed that the company was bankrupt. The Riot Act was read later that day and great violence was only avoided by a massive influx of police. The bankruptcy and subsequent long stoppage led to great poverty in the village. Families had to live on 8s. (40p) per week from the Miners” Poverty Fund. A re-formed Hartlepool Coal Company started up in 1878 paying only half the wages owed to the men. The collapse of this second company in 1884 led to more rioting in the village. This time the closure would last 6 years and it took over a year to secure the men”s wages.

In 1881 the census enumerator mentioned Office Street, Gowland Terrace, Grainger Street, Elizabeth Street, Smith Street, Emily Street, Anne Street, John Street, Plantation Street, Wingate Lane, Quarry Street, Webb Street, Robson Street, Hirst Street, Patton Street, Gothay Street, Louisa Street, Arne Street, Maria Street, Gullock Street, Pyman Street, Ford Street and Wohmerhausen Street, all of which appear on the map of 1897. He also mentioned Farm Cottages Numbers 1 – 51. I have not located these on the map. Many of these street names will have been connected to the directors of the original and second companies.

Eventually the workforce moved elsewhere and most of the village was boarded up. Wheatley Hill Colliery was bought up by a much larger concern, the Weardale Coal, Iron & Steel Company and reopened in c. 1890 according to conventional wisdom. This is not borne out by the census of 1891 in which the enumerator mentioned no new streets but left a note saying that all (or nearly all) of the houses in Elizabeth, Smith, Emily, Anne, John, Quarry, Webb, Robson, Hirst, Patton, Gothay, Pyman, Gullock and Ford Streets were completely uninhabited and boarded up. In that block of Wheatley Hill alone there were 369 empty dwellings. Many of the remaining streets were, at best, half empty. The enumerator again ended with Farm Cottages which must have been outlying.

The village soon came to life again and saw another 70 odd years of coal production before the inevitable end. Wheatley Hill Colliery closed in 1968.

Deaf Hill

Deaf Hill did not have its own Anglican church until 1884, so before then look in the parish registers for Kelloe and Wingate.

Available Parish Registers at Durham Record Office
…Kelloe and Wingate Grange parish registers listed above, plus…
St. Paul, Deaf Hill-cum-Langdale, Baptisms 1884-1987
St. Paul, Deaf Hill-cum-Langdale, Marriages 1884-1982
St. Paul, Deaf Hill-cum-Langdale, Burials 1884-1978

Deaf Hill Colliery was first mentioned in the 1881 census. The enumerator noted “Deaf Hill Pit”, Cookes Buildings, Prospect Terrace, Church Street, Cuthbert (or Cuthbertson) Street, Lord Street (with 15 uninhabited dwellings) and Railway Street (11 uninhabited dwellings). Total of 90 households. In 1891 the enumerator also mentioned Foundry Square and Railway Cottages. All of these are named on the map of 1897. Deaf Hill Colliery closed in 1968.

— by Tony Whitehead

South Wingate Colliery & Station Town

South Wingate Colliery (a.k.a Hart Bushes Colliery or Rodridge Colliery)
and
Station Town (Hutton Henry Colliery)

(also see Wingate Grange, Deaf Hill & Wheatley Hill)

South Wingate Colliery was far too small ever to have its own church but it did have a Methodist chapel. It is not known what has happened to its records. South Wingate was in the parish of Monk Hesleden, so look there for the ancient records; also try Hutton Henry records.

Available Parish Registers at Durham Record Office
St. Mary, Monk Hesleden, Baptisms 1578-1948
St. Mary, Monk Hesleden, Marriages 1578-1925
St. Mary, Monk Hesleden, Baptisms 1578-1908
St. Francis, Hutton Henry, Marriages 1926-54
Hutton House RC, Hutton Henry, Baptisms 1808-39
Hutton Henry Wesleyan Chapel, Baptisms 1878-1935

Population changes in the 19th. Century were:

 Year 1801 1811 1821 1831 1841 1851 1861 1871 1881 1891 1901
Monk Hesleden 150 148 164 176 490 1495 1533 1636 2421 3819 1302

The above census figures relate to the sub-district of Monk Hesleden, which included South Wingate Colliery, and not just to the tiny village of Monk Hesleden. The above census records for 1841-1901 are transcribed and available on this site.

South Wingate was a colliery too far. On the southeastern edge of the Durham coalfield and almost in the low-lying valley of the River Tees, it suffered badly from flooding from the moment sinking began, and it is unlikely that it ever ran at a profit. Conventional wisdom has it that the colliery began in 1840, but there was no sign of coalminers or even ‘sinkers’ in the 1841 census. A date later than June 1841 seems more likely. By 1851, when the village was at its peak, there were 155 households. The enumerator mentioned only Main Street, Back Street and Low End. The colliery closed in 1857 and the population of the village collapsed, dispersing to the four corners of the Great Northern Coalfield. By the time of the 1861 census there were just 26 households and the enumerator called everything ‘South Wingate’. It was almost a ghost village. Some diehards held on hoping for better times and they were eventually rewarded.

In the census of 1871 there were still only 27 households and the enumerator still described everything as just ‘South Wingate’ which is of little help to local historians. By 1881 (probably c. 1872) at the latest Hutton Henry Colliery had definitely opened and began using the redundant village for its workforce. The enumerator of that year noted that 70 households now lived at what he too called simply ‘South Wingate’. By 1891 there were 103 households and the enumerator of that year at last mentioned Front Street, Far Row, Pond Row, High Row and Low Row.

The stay of execution for South Wingate was only a temporary one. Hutton Henry Colliery too closed for good in 1897 and this finished off South Wingate as a viable community. A few diehards remained for the next 30 or so years however. The village, apart from Miss Nichols’s shop, was demolished in the 1930s and the entire population moved en masse to Wingate and Station Town. Many had spent their whole lives at South Wingate and they still returned there once a week to buy their groceries and show support for Miss Nichol. Miss Nichol can be followed in the censuses for South Wingate in the late 19th. century. Eventually Miss Nichol, now grown very old, died and her shop was converted to a private dwelling. A few years ago it was still possible to see fittings from the shop in the living room. The villagers, also very old, came to their birthplace no more. There is little trace today of the former mining village of South Wingate and the nearest colliery is over a hundred miles away.

Station Town

Available Parish Registers at Durham Record Office
…same as for South Wingate Colliery…

Population changes in the 19th. Century were:

1801 1811 1821 1831 1841 1851 1861 1871 1881 1891 1901
Hutton Henry 156 155 174 162 287 1067 392 539 1825 3151 2578

All of the census returns for Hutton Henry 1841-1901 inclusive are transcribed and available on this site. The above returns are for ‘Greater Hutton Henry’ which included the village of that name, outlying farms and Hutton Henry Colliery (c. 1869-97), which area eventually came to be known as Station Town.

The community of Station Town derives its name from its location at the junction of the old Ferryhill to Hart and Sunderland to Hartlepool (via Murton and Haswell) railways, where a station was built. Only six households were present in the embryonic community in 1871, 2 years after the alleged opening of Hutton Henry Colliery, the concern it was built to serve. There was no sign of the pit in the 1871 census so a later date for its opening seems likely. There were 153 households at Station Town by 1881 and 396 by 1891 when the enumerator mentioned: Station Lane, Gladstone Street, Wingate Station, ‘Station Town’, Collwill Building, Front Street, East Terrace, ‘Acclom’ (Acklam ?) Street, Vane Street, Rodridge Street, Gargen Street, Millbank (or Milbanke) Terrace, East View and ‘Hutton Henry Colliery’.

Only a single row of houses was built adjacent to Hutton Henry Colliery. The rest of the colliery houses (Station Town) were situated near the shops, church and other facilities at the southern end of the adjacent settlement of Wingate. As time went by the two communities became indistinguishable.

When Hutton Henry Colliery failed in 1897 the Station Town miners went to work at Wingate or Trimdon collieries. Their proximity to two passenger railways in fact gave them several options of collieries to pick from. After the Great War Station Town was extended southeastwards towards Rodridge.

Wingate Colliery closed in 1962. During 1976-79 the surviving old colliery streets at Wingate and Station Town were cleared away and replaced by new estates. Today, driving through Station Town, you would never guess that it once was a coalmining village.

 — by Tony Whitehead

Trimdon Colliery Disaster of 1882

The Trimdon Disaster of 1882

The Trimdon Colliery Disaster, a mine explosion, occurred on Thursday, February 16, 1882. Seventy-four people were killed. The below information draws on info from the Durham Chronicle and the census of 1881. Following the death lists are short lists of who identified certain bodies.

Background

Trimdon Grange (Five Houses) was sunk in 1845. Mr. Cooke was resident manager. Mr. W.O. Wood was head manager at Trimdon Grange Colliery. TGC was owned by Mr. Walter Scott.

67 got out at Trimdon Grange and 6 at Kelloe (East Hetton) . One of these survivors, Peter Brown (59 year old furnaceman) died of his injuries after being pulled out.

Trimdon Grange and Kelloe pits were linked underground, separated by a door which was forced open by the explosion. The “after damp” (poisonous gases created by the explosion) killed some of the would-be rescuers from Kelloe.

Inquest held at the Trimdon Grange Inn. Opened and adjourned.

44 of the victims were buried in a mass grave at Old Trimdon. 26 were buried at Kelloe, 1 at Croxdale, 1 at Cassop and 2 at Shadforth.

One young woman was to have been married on the Saturday afternoon but at the appointed time she attended her betrothed’s funeral. Another victim, father of 2 small children, was working his last shift prior to emigrating to America. Another man was arrested in the pit yard before the shift for non-payment of a fine. His 2 ‘marrers’ were killed.

Death List from Trimdon Grange Colliery Village

Name Age on Death List Age in 1881 census Occupation Dependents Residence Birthplace per 1881 census
1 William Robson 46 deputy widow and 1 child 13 Lane Row Quarrington
2 John Errington 36 32 weighman (or waggonwayman) widow and 3 children Plantation Row Trimdon
3 Samuel Richardson 16 single Plantation Row Usworth
4 James Stubbs 30 widow and 3 children Plantation Row Bowden Close
5 Thomas Priestley 29 widow and 1 child Plantation Row Etherley
6 John Douglas boy 12 Plantation Row Trimdon
7 Thomas Sharp (not found) single
8 John Hughes 50 (or 30) 35 hewer single Rose Street Wales
9 Thomas Hunter 36 widow and 6 children Plantation Row Kelloe
10 Andrew Smith 23 hewer single Plantation Row Cassop
11 Cornelius Jones boy 17 Plantation Row Wales
12 John F.(?) Jones 38 34 hewer single Plantation Row Wales
13 Robert Soulsby 59 hewer widow and grown-up family Plantation Row South Shields.
14 Joseph Hyde 22 hewer single Lane Row Ireland
15 John Ramsay or Ramsey 28 25 onsetter single Lane Row Trimdon
16 Joseph Dormand 18 13 driver Lane Row Wingate
17 Thomas Dormand boy 11 Lane Row Trimdon
18 William Jefferson 18 17 onsetter single Lane Row South Hetton
19 George Jefferson 16 13 switch-boy single Lane Row South Hetton
20 John Allison or Ellison 18 hewer single Lane Row Elwick
21 Henry Burke 39 widow and 4 children Office Row Ireland
22 Edward Spencer 16 single (or 19, married) Office Row Wales
23 George Wigham 25 widow and 3 children Office Row Wrekenton (lodger)
24 Frederick Bowen 23 23 hewer widow and 2 children Office Row Sunderland
25 William Madrell or Maddrell 40 married 17 Office Row in 1881
26 John Williams or Williamson 50 hewer widow and 1 child Reading Room Row Wales
27 Thomas Peate or Peale or Peel 20 single Reading Room Row Trimdon
28 George Richardson 26 29 widow and 2 children Reading Room Row Easington.
29 Michael Hart or Hatt 44 hewer widow and 7 children Reading Room Row Ireland
30 Thomas Horden (not found) back overman widow and grown-up family
31 George Lishman (not found) single
32 William Bowen 16 16 single Reading Room Row Thornley (lodger)
33 John Wilson (or Beaton; stepfather was Cornelius Beaton) 16 14 single Hammonds Houses Trimdon
34 Matthew Day boy 12 driver Station Terrace Monk Hesleden.
35 Henry Joyce 17 (not found) single
36 Richard Thwaites 24 23 deputy widower Overmans Row Trimdon
37 George Dobson 23 hewer single Overmans Row Sedgefield
38 Ralph Mercer 18 17 putter Overman’s Row Rosedale, Yorkshire
39 Richard Dawe 20 single Longwood Row Cornwall
40 David Griffiths boy 18 putter Longwood Row Stafford
41 Enoch Sayers 18 17 single Plantation Row Aysgarth, Yorkshire
42 John Samuel Edmunds 14 12 driver Longwood Row Bridgend, Glam, Wales
43 William Parker boy 15 Longwood Seaton, County Durham
44 Ralph Robinson 19 (not found) putter single
45 Robert Edwards 18 (not found) single
46 David Edwards 16 (not found) driver
47 Jacob Soulsby 22 26 hewer widow Duff Heap Row Trimdon
48 John Wilson 31 widow and 3 children Reading Room Row Durham City

William Jefferson, an engineman of Lane Row, Trimdon Grange identified his 2 sons.
Joseph Dormand of Lane Row identified his son Joseph.
David Elderwick of Trimdon Colliery identified the body of his son-in-law John Harrington.
William Edwards of Surgery Row, Trimdon, identified Robert Edwards.

Death List from Trimdon Colliery Village

Name Age on Death List Age in 1881 census Occupation Dependents Residence Birthplace per 1881 census
1 William Hyde (not found) widow and 1 child
2 William Williams 30 widow and 3 children Hogg’s-Pratt’s Street Cornwall
3 Henry Miller 24 single Hogg’s-Pratt’s Street Kidsgrove, Staffs (lodger)
4 John Smith 25 widow and 2 (or 3) children Office Row Liverpool
5 Thomas Prior or Pryor 24 25 single Hogg’s-Pratt’s Street Gateshead
6 Thomas Clarke 27 widow and 2 children, Hogg’s-Pratt’s Street Clay Cross, Derbys
7 William Walker 22 widow and 2 children Reading Room Row (Trimdon Grange) Ferryhill(?)
8 Michael Docherty 20 19 hewer single Coffee Pot Row Ireland
9 Joseph Whitfield Burnett 22 (or 23) putter single
10 George Colling Burnett 18 (or 19) shaftsman or assistant onsetter single Burnett’s Row Trimdon
11 James White Burnett 17 landing minder single Burnett’s Row Trimdon
12 Robert Maitland (not found) widow and 3 children
13 Matthew French boy, 13 (not found) trapper

The Burnetts were identified by their brother Thomas, a boiler-minder living at Spennymoor.
William Hyde identified Joseph Hyde.

Death List from Old Trimdon Village

Name Age on Death List Age in 1881 census Occupation Dependents Residence Birthplace per 1881 census
1 James Boyd (actually named McDonald and brought up by his Boyd grandparents.) boy, 14 12 coupler County Durham
2 Michael McCall or McHale 22 18 single
3 John McCall or McHale 17 17 driver single
4 Thomas McCall or McHale 13 13 driver single
5 William Jennings boy 16 assistant shaftsman Salter’s Lane (Trimdon Grange) Ireland.
6 Patrick Durkin boy, 12 Ireland.

Samuel Boyd identified his ‘son’ (grandson) James (McDonald) .
Ann Jennings of Old Trimdon identified her only son. She was left with a widowed daughter.
Patrick McCall, Quarryman of Old Trimdon, identified his two brothers. The body of a third brother had not yet been recovered.

Death List from Kelloe (East Hetton)

Name Age on Death List Age in 1881 census Occupation Dependents Residence Birthplace per 1881 census
1 Herman Schler 73 Underviewer at Kelloe
2 George Slack single
3 Thomas Blenkinsop master wasteman widow and 4 children
4 Jacob Barryman or Berryman or Berriman widow and 3 children
5 Christopher Prest widow and 3 children
6 Frank Ramshaw 17 single

— by Tony Whitehead

Colliery Railways: Seaham to Hartlepool, 1905-?

Seaham to Hartlepool, 1905-?

The Past

In 1899 the N.E.R. began to construct the Seaham-Hartlepool connection. This necessitated the construction of viaducts over four large denes and several smaller ones. The most spectacular of these are at Seaton Carew, Hawthorn Dene and Dawdon Field Dene. Dawdon Viaduct was finished in 1905 to complete the new line. Seaham was at last connected to the south and was no longer a railway deadend. There were stations at Hartlepool, Hart Station, Blackhall, Horden, Easington (Colliery), Seaham, Ryhope (East) and Sunderland. Over the years the number of stations was gradually reduced until there was only one stop between Hartlepool and Sunderland – Seaham.

The Present

In recent decades all of the pits the Seaham to Hartlepool extension was constructed to serve – Blackhall, Horden, Easington, Dawdon and Vane Tempest have closed. The Durham coalfield is history. The line from Seaham to Hartlepool and beyond has never been a success as a passenger railway. Watch the passenger trains as they shuttle past. Hardly a soul on board.

The Future

If the Seaham to Hartlepool connection does go then surely a magnificent coastal walkway can be created from the trackbed. There is even the possibily of a steam service in summer time.

— by Tony Whitehead

Colliery Railways: Londonderry Seaham & Sunderland 1854/55- ?

Londonderry Seaham & Sunderland 1854/55- ?

The Past

Seaton and Seaham collieries came on stream in 1852. The docks at Seaham Harbour were by now receiving coal from nearly 20 inland pits and were seriously overloaded. Something had to be done to ease the pressure. The solution was to create a railway to the much larger facilities at the port of Sunderland. On a bitterly cold day, February 8 1853, the first turf of the Londonderry Seaham and Sunderland Railway was dug by the 3rd. Marquess, now aged 75. He was fated not to see the completion of this project. On January 17 1854 Frances Anne celebrated her 54th. birthday at Wynyard, the last she would share with her husband. On the same day the Londonderry Seaham and Sunderland Railway was completed as far as Ryhope where it met up with the Durham (Shincliffe) and Sunderland Railway. This company would not share its rails or its station at Ryhope (West) with the newcomer which was obliged to lay its own tracks alongside the others on the remaining stretch from Ryhope to Sunderland. This explains why the trackbed today is so wide between Ryhope and Hendon. Passenger traffic finally began on the Londonderry Seaham and Sunderland on July 1 1855 with stations at Seaham, Seaham Colliery, Seaham Hall (for the private use of the Londonderrys and their guests) and Ryhope (East). The town was at last connected to the outside world by a passenger rail service. From 1854 to 1868 the LS&S had its own station in Sunderland. From 1868 until 1879 the terminus was at Hendon Burn until the new central station opened.

The new railway terminated at Seaham, there was no southward connection to Hartlepool and Teesside. For this it was necessary to travel on the LS&S north to Ryhope (East) and change there to a D&S (rope-hauled) southbound train to Haswell and change again there to a loco-hauled train of the HD&R. This situation of dozens of independent railway companies serving the northeast was about to come to an end. A giant appeared amongst them. The North Eastern Railway was formed in 1854 by the amalgamation of four large railway companies: the York and North Midland; the York, Newcastle & Berwick; the Leeds Northern; the Malton and Driffield. In the following decades the N.E.R. gobbled up many others including the Stockton & Darlington, the Durham and Sunderland, the Hartlepool Dock and Railway and, eventually, the Londonderry Seaham and Sunderland. From HQ in York the company at its peak controlled over 500 stations, with 1700 miles of track and the right to use another 300 miles belonging to other companies. The N.E.R. and Hartlepool Dock & Railway amalgamated in 1857. The D&S was gobbled up a little later. A single station was constructed at Haswell and through trains now ran from Sunderland to Hartlepool.

The 3rd. Marquess died in March 1854 and his widow took over the running of all the Londonderry businesses. On December 12 1859 she laid the foundation stone for the Seaham Harbour Blast Furnaces at a site near Dawdon Hill Farm. An extension to the LS&S, the Blastfurnace Branch, was constructed to connect with this new and high-risk venture and Frances Anne’s second son Adolphus was put in charge. This was possibly not the wisest of choices given that Adolphus was having serious mental problems at the time. Quarrels between Frances Anne and her chief agent John Ravenshaw over the entire scheme brought about his resignation and delayed completion of the project until 1862. The furnaces were supplied with coal from Seaham Colliery and iron ore from Cleveland which was brought by rail to Seaton Bank and then down the Rainton line and on to the Londonderry Seaham and Sunderland railway. The newly built extension to this line led straight into the furnaces. Lime was brought on another short railway branch from the quarry at Fox Cover. National overproduction and falling prices threatened the scheme by the time of Frances Anne’s death three years later and it did in fact fold by the end of 1865. In 1869 the site was leased out to a chemical company for the production of soda and magnesia and occasionally pig-iron when the market revived. Both Chemical Works and Blastfurnaces finally closed in 1885. The Blastfurnace Branch line was taken over to service Dawdon Colliery whch appeared near to the furnace site in 1899. The branch line to Fox Cover Quarry remained in use until about 1919.

In the mid-1890s new deep collieries were planned along the Durham coast – Blackhall, Horden, Easington and Dawdon. The 6th. Marquess contemplated extending the LS&S southward to Easington and perhaps beyond. However the N.E.R. was also on the scene and wanted to build its own railway to connect Seaham (and all the new pits in between) with Hartlepool. The N.E.R. already owned Hartlepool Dock. A clash was inevitable and for months legal action and counter-action ensued. Londonderry opposed a new N.E.R. line, the N.E.R. opposed the dock project and the proposed extension of the LS&S. Finally the two sides came to their senses and agreed to cooperate.

In 1898 the 6th. Marquess sponsored the Seaham Harbour Dock Act which established the Seaham Harbour Dock Company and gave it powers to construct new harbour works, including two outer protective piers and an enclosed dock equipped with new coal staiths. SHDC was unusual as one of the few private companies to be established by special Act of Parliament. The capital of the Company in 1898 was £450,000. Both the N.E.R. and Lord Londonderry were major shareholders in this new concern which took over the docks and the LS&S wagonways and stock of coal wagons. As part of the deal the rest of the LS&S, in almost its entirety, was sold to the N.E.R. for £400,000 and it was incorporated in their network. The Londonderry family also gained a seat on the board of the N.E.R. Two small exceptions were made to the sale of the LS&S lock, stock and barrel: Seaham Hall station remained the private property of the family and the Marquess retained the right ‘to stop other than express trains within reasonable limits’ (between 1900 and 1923 this privilege was used only four times, an indication of how little the family used Seaham Hall by then. In 1923 the 7th. Marquess, who had by then recently abandoned Seaham Hall, was persuaded by the new L.N.E.R. to surrender this right.); The Station Hotel in Seaham also remained the property of the Marquess. This public house had an entrance straight from the platform. Seaham Colliery station became the new main station for Seaham for through-trains but the old station remained as the terminus for the local service from Sunderland. It was closed on September 11 1939 as a a wartime measure and never reopened. It and the public house were demolished in the 1970s. The N.E.R. became the L.N.E.R. after the Great War and part of British Railways after the Second World War.

The Present

Seaham lost its own unique private railway in 1898. The trackbed of the LS&SR is now part of the coastal Sunderland-Seaham-Hartlepool-Teesside branch railway. Virtually the only visible reminders of the old private railway are to be seen just to the north of the former Ryhope junction with the inland Sunderland-Haswell-Hartlepool line. Back in the 1850s the original owners of the inland railway refused to share either their station at Ryhope or their existing tracks from there to Sunderland with the new LS&SR. This not only necessitated a second station at Ryhope (Ryhope East) but also a second bridge over the obstacle of the dene just to the north of Ryhope Junction and a second set of tracks alongside the other all the way from there in to Sunderland. Hence the trackbed between Ryhope and Sunderland being so wide for the next couple of miles. The second bridge thrown across the dene was made with metal and even to this day the legend ‘LS&SR’ can be seen stamped on it.

The Future

The future of trackbed of the former LS&SR seems to be reasonably secure. Without coal pits, Seaham is rapidly becoming a mere satellite of Sunderland, which is soon to be connected up to the Tyneside Metro system. It seems likely that Seaham too will be connected up one day.

— by Tony Whitehead

Colliery Railways: Hartlepool to Sunderland via Haswell 1835/36-1993

Hartlepool to Sunderland via Haswell 1835/36-1993

The Past

In 1832 the Hartlepool Dock and Railway Company began to build a passenger/freight line from Hartlepool to Haswell (via Hart Station, Hesleden, Wellfield and Shotton) with the intention of pushing through to Pittington, Moorsley, Rainton and beyond and hopefully diverting coal trade from collieries en route towards Hartlepool. In the same year a rival company, the Sunderland Dock & Railway, started to build a line from Sunderland to Haswell (via Ryhope, Seaton, Murton and South Hetton), which opened on August 30 1836. Both lines terminated at Haswell but initially there was no connection between them as they were on different levels and almost at right angles to each other. There were two separate stations.

Between 1836 and 1839 the Durham and Sunderland also constructed a western branch line from Murton Junction to Durham (Shincliffe) via Hetton, Pittington and Sherburn House. This extension reached the very places (Moorsley and Rainton) that the Hartlepool Dock and Railway had been aiming for and so that company abandoned any idea of expanding their line beyond Haswell. A proper junction was then created at Haswell so that passengers could change trains and companies with the minimum of fuss and inconvenience but there were still two stations. Seaham was bypassed by the Sunderland to Haswell/Shincliffe railway but a long walk to any of the three stations at Murton, Seaton or Ryhope gave access to the rest of the world. From Seaton Sunderland was now just a ten minute train journey away and Durham (Shincliffe) fifty minutes. The Rainton and Seaham line crossed the new railway at a point just south of Seaton and a junction was created to enable Rainton coals to be sent on the new line to Sunderland docks. A junction was also effected between the new railway south of Haswell and the South Hetton line (the Londonderry Pesspool branch). The Hartlepool Dock and Railway was gobbled up by the new, giant N.E.R. in 1857. The Durham and Sunderland was also snapped up not long after. A single station was then constructed at Haswell and through trains began running from Hartlepool to Sunderland.

The directors of the new Sunderland to Durham (Shincliffe) & Haswell Railway in 1832 had been unconvinced by the early locomotives produced by George Stephenson and others and instead opted for fixed engines which could manage steep gradients far better. Later locomotives had the power to cope with gradients but by then it was too late and the company was stuck with the archaic method of transport until it was taken over by the giant North Eastern Railway in the 1850s.

The advantage of fixed engines was that they overcame the necessity for much of the excavation work required to make a railway line as level as possible. Consequently, for reasons of economy, the Sunderland to Durham (Shincliffe) & Haswell ended up with some of the steepest gradients in the British railway network and was later used to test the power and brakes on new models of locomotives. From Ryhope to Haswell via Seaton, Murton Junction and South Hetton was a continuous upslope. One night in the 1890s the brakes on a downtrack loco failed at Murton and the runaway train raced past Seaton before derailing itself on the curve ahead. Several people were killed.

The disadvantage to fixed engines was that they made a journey tortuous in the extreme due to the need to change haulage equipment for each leg of a journey. From Sunderland to Ryhope, which was flat, the trains were hauled by a locomotive. There the loco was replaced by a chain connected to the fixed engine house at Murton Junction. The coaches were than pulled uphill, stopping at Seaton on the way. At Murton the chain was changed for another one connected to Haswell fixed engine house. To get to Durham was even more complicated. It was necessary to change trains at Murton Junction and gravity brought the coaches (still connected by a chain) downhill to Hetton. From there to Durham (Shincliffe) via Pittington, Broomside and Sherburn House was comparatively flat but there were several more fixed engines to attatch to en route. It was barely quicker than walking but this method of transport was used some 20 years after the development of powerful locos which could do the entire journey on their own regardless of the gradients.

In 1880 the N.E.R. constructed a branch from the Hartlepool and Sunderland line at Wellfield to Stockton via Wynyard Park. This created a connection between Wynyard and Seaham via Wellfield, Murton Junction and Ryhope. Coal travelled from Seaham Colliery to heat Wynyard Hall and the Londonderry family travelled between their two Durham residences on their own private train with private stations at either end. As well as a rental for the use of his land the 5th. Marquess was given the right to halt any trains he wished in order that he could get on board, regardless of the inconvenience to other passengers.

In the early 1890’s the 6th. Marquess’ younger son Reginald, in his teens, developed an interest in engineering and would spend days on end travelling in the cab of a train on the family’s private locomotives between Wynyard, Seaham and Sunderland. He learned to drive the train, ate with the drivers and stokers and often returned home begrimed. He took a greater interest in the family’s northeast businesses and possessions than anybody since his great-grandmother Lady Frances Anne Vane Tempest. Reginald developed TB and was sent first to a sanatorium in South Africa and then to stay with Cecil Rhodes as his guest. His health kept declining and in May 1898 his mother had to travel out from Britain to bring him home, which to him was Seaham Hall. He died there on October 9 1899, aged 20. The shops in Seaham remained shut during the funeral service and six enginemen acted as his pallbearers. According to his wishes he was buried at St. Mary the Virgin at Seaham Hall, the only member of the Londonderry family to lie in the town they created. A large Celtic stone cross was erected over the grave but this has since been removed for safety by the current Marquess of Londonderry. The passenger service on the so-called Castle Eden branch line between Wellfield and Stckton via Wynyard ended on November 2 1931. It remained open for goods traffic until 1951. It was finally closed between 1966-68 and the line was dismantled. It has now become the splendid Castle Eden Walkway. Passenger service on the Hartlepool and Sunderland via Haswell was withdrawn on June 9 1952. The line remained open for freight and minerals until the mid 1960s when it was dismantled. The northern section from Hawthorn Shaft to Ryhope remained open until the closure of Murton colliery in 1991. This last segment was dismantled at the end of 1993.

The Present

At the risk of repeating myself a walkway now exists from Ryhope (old A19 Flyover) to Hart Station, just north of Hartlepool. With a little diversion it is also possible to walk from Ryhope to Stockton via Wynyard. With a much bigger diversion because of a 200 yard gap at Murton, it is also possible to walk from Ryhope to the edge of the Cathedral City. Needless to say Seaham is not connected to this because ‘The Yellow Brick Road’ stops short at Cold Hesledon.

The Future

There needs to be a connection to bridge the short gap at Murton.

Colliery Railways: South Hetton line or Braddyll’s Railway 1833-1984

The South Hetton line or Braddyll’s Railway 1833-1984

The Past

The main section of the Rainton and Seaham railway was completed in 1831. Almost immediately work began to construct a second railway from the new harbour to the hinterland, paid for by Colonel Braddyll, owner of the new pit at South Hetton. This, the South Hetton and Seaham line (aka The Braddyll Railway), also utilised gravity on its final legs and was completed in 1833. It ran from the new winning past the still tiny hamlet of Murton, on past the ancient village of Cold Hesledon and through green fields down to the clifftops. One day it would separate Seaham Golf Course from Parkside estate but that day was still over a hundred years in the future.

Initially the South Hetton line served only the one colliery. In 1835 Haswell Colliery was opened and the wagonway was extended to it. In 1841 Shotton Colliery was sunk and a further extension was pushed to there. This 2 mile extension was later abandoned in favour of a branch line from Shotton to the Sunderland-Haswell-Hartlepool line. The only surviving traces of this Shotton connection are the buttresses of the bridge which carried the waggonway over the Sunderland-Haswell-Hartlepool line which can be seen by strollers on the Haswell to Hart Walkway. Murton Colliery, another Braddyll pit, opened in 1843 and it too was connected up to the South Hetton line. In 1844 an explosion killed 96 at Haswell and the pit was always problematical after that, opening and closing several times. It closed for good in 1896. After the final closure of Haswell in the South Hetton line served only two collieries – Murton and South Hetton and this situation continued for the next 62 years.

From 1958/59 the coals from Eppleton, Elemore and Murton Collieries were sent underground to Hawthorn Shaft for raising to the surface. From there most was sent to Sunderland (on the rump Hartlepool to Sunderland line) and some passed down the South Hetton line. One by one the four feeder collieries closed down and only Murton was left by the time of the Miner’s Strike of 1984-85. During the 151 years of its existence millions of tons of coal had been sent down it to Seaham Harbour, bringing work and revenue to the new town.

The Strike, the longest and most bitter of them all, was calculated to stop the closure of the surviving collieries, in Durham and elsewhere. An early victim was the South Hetton line, destroyed at Parkside by local people digging for coal in that grim winter. As with the Rainton and Seaham line the nucleus of the embankments had been made with the cheapest and most readily available material at hand, pea to marble sized pieces of coal. In its time the line had carried millions of tons of coal and served six inland collieries (none of them owned by the Londonderrys), and accounted for more than one life and limb. It would have been abandoned anyway with the closure of the last of the feeder pits, Murton Colliery, in 1991.

The Present

Today the old Braddyll Railway is a very pleasant walkway from Seaham Harbour to Cold Hesledon but after that it is almost obliterated by the gigantic slag heap left behind by the Hawthorn Shaft combine. Beyond the slag heap the line connects with the old Sunderland-Haswell-Hartlepool railway. From there it is possible to follow old railway lines continuously all the way to Ryhope, Hartlepool and Stockton. The course of the old wagonway from South Hetton to Haswell Colliery is still clearly visible all the way from Hawthorn shaft to Haswell village but is is now like a rollercoaster, suggesting that the embankments suffered the same fate as those at Parkside sometime in the past. The course of the wagonway from Haswell village to Haswell Colliery and on to Shotton Colliery has long since returned to fields.

The Future

There needs to be a path from Cold Hesledon to connect with the old Sunderland-Haswell-Hartlepool line at South Hetton. Otherwise, Seaham will be cut off from the developing national network of old railways which have been turned into walkways. Surely it is not beyond Seaham and Easington councils to obtain a strip of land no wider than 20 feet to make the connection ?

— by Tony Whitehead